Vegetarian Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Delicious! I agree with everyone about the addition of the raisins - adds an interesting sweetness and surprises with each mouthful. Like a lot of other people, I tinkered with the recipe ... I didn't have enough of the tomatoes, more beans plus spinach. Yum. Will make this again and again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This recipe was fantastic!! I made it very mild ( half the amount of curry powder and omitted the cayenne pepper) so my 1 year old and 3 year old sons could eat it.... they LOVED it!! We will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This recipie had a good flavor, although I had to add a little more curry powder than called for, prob since I added a few cut boiled potatoes. Also, I chopped up some carrots and let the curry simmer with about half a can of coconut milk. I only needed one can of tomatoes for the flavor I wanted. Also, I didn't have just golden raisins, so I threw in a mix of the golden raisins, dried cherries, dried blueberries, and dried cranberries. I liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4Thoughts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I did enjoy this a lot! It was so easy, and didn't require the exotic spices that are so pricey from the organic grocery. I only gave it 4 stars because I think it could have been more flavorful, but I'm not sure what would have made it that way. Also, it burned the bottom of the pan pretty badly (maybe I used the wrong pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was very chili-esque. I ate it all week for lunch with rice. I barely noticed the raisins were in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Walpole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
My family gave this 5 stars. The raisins are a really nice surprise. Simmer this covered to keep it saucy enough to go on rice. Next time I'll add more cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Was okay. Definitely fine to eat but was way too overwhelmed by tomato. Was the consistency of chili with Indian flavours - odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I have made this a number of times. Wonderful! Great as-is but I made a couple of modifications on later tries that I liked too. I use 3 different color beans (plus the kidney bean is one I just don't care for). Use the special multi-color jumbo raisins for a beautiful presentation. Once I added an extra can of tomatoes right at the end and they were larger pieces and bright red and the contrast was beautiful. I have also added coconut milk sometimes and that was very nice too. Very easy! I used the small orange lentils as suggested and they worked perfectly every time without having to pre-cook them. Just love this recipe and it is quite easy. Also nice to know I have a really fabulous thing to serve my vegetarian friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Add 1 tbl of garam masala powder, 1 tbl honey(if raisins not available) and 1 tbl of butter...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I dumped all the ingredients in a crock pot and cooked it on low while I was at work. Worked perfectly! I only gave this 4 stars because while it was good, my husband and I didn't think it was great, probably not something I'd put in our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States