Vegetarian Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Great recipe. I had to make some adjustments based on what I had on hand (did not use additional cumin, used "hot" curry, 1 14 oz can of roasted diced tomatoes and 1 14 oz can tomato sauce in place of crushed tomatoes) and also added mushrooms with the onions and garlic, as well as a little veg stock/water to get to the consistency I wanted (and due to extended cook time). Served with chopped cilantro and a dollop of plain yogurt (didn't have sour cream). I also let it simmer longer than 1 hour and let sit for a couple of hours before serving. The taste became more mellow and sweeter over time. It was excellent and everyone loved it. I didn't have a problem with the lentils being undercooked because I let it simmer longer. I think the additional time improved the flavor. I definitely will make again. I might try different tomatoes or beans next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I love to eat and cook Indian food, but this didn't do much for me and I followed the recipe with the exception of adding powered coconut milk at the end to try to help it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Great tasting! I cut the curry to 1 T, as I'm somewhat new to the flavor, and I enjoyed it. The raisins add an interesting sweetness! I agree with other reviewers that the lentils need some precooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
LOVE this. Two changes I made: add ground turkey to the veggies in the beginning. Adds a great flavor and some meat to the dish if your family likes meat like mine. Also, for more flavor, sprinkle the finished dish with chopped fresh cilantro. I serve this with jasmine rice and a dollop of plain yogurt. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was great! Just the right amount of spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassidytonkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was delicious. I doubled the recipe, and substituted a can of coconut milk for the second can of crushed tomatoes. Served with pita bread, it was a big hit for the vegetarians and non-vegetarians at my halloween party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Morrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe! I, too, found it easier to pre-cook lentils, and afterward, ended up simmering all ingredients together about half an hour. Not only is it delicious, but just look at the ingredients! It's a healthy recipe to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Everybody has been asking not to forget the raisins; yet I did. Inspite of that this was delicious. I added a couple of tablespooons of coriander powder with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
It tasted more like Indian chili than a curry, but still very good. I think next time I'll double the curry powder and par-cook the lentils in 1/2 cup of water, and then only simmer for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greve, Sjælland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I added some water as it simmered and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buddhaful Aud

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States