Vegetarian Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Great recipe. I had to make some adjustments based on what I had on hand (did not use additional cumin, used "hot" curry, 1 14 oz can of roasted diced tomatoes and 1 14 oz can tomato sauce in place of crushed tomatoes) and also added mushrooms with the onions and garlic, as well as a little veg stock/water to get to the consistency I wanted (and due to extended cook time). Served with chopped cilantro and a dollop of plain yogurt (didn't have sour cream). I also let it simmer longer than 1 hour and let sit for a couple of hours before serving. The taste became more mellow and sweeter over time. It was excellent and everyone loved it. I didn't have a problem with the lentils being undercooked because I let it simmer longer. I think the additional time improved the flavor. I definitely will make again. I might try different tomatoes or beans next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I love to eat and cook Indian food, but this didn't do much for me and I followed the recipe with the exception of adding powered coconut milk at the end to try to help it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Great tasting! I cut the curry to 1 T, as I'm somewhat new to the flavor, and I enjoyed it. The raisins add an interesting sweetness! I agree with other reviewers that the lentils need some precooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
LOVE this. Two changes I made: add ground turkey to the veggies in the beginning. Adds a great flavor and some meat to the dish if your family likes meat like mine. Also, for more flavor, sprinkle the finished dish with chopped fresh cilantro. I serve this with jasmine rice and a dollop of plain yogurt. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was great! Just the right amount of spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassidytonkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was delicious. I doubled the recipe, and substituted a can of coconut milk for the second can of crushed tomatoes. Served with pita bread, it was a big hit for the vegetarians and non-vegetarians at my halloween party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe! I, too, found it easier to pre-cook lentils, and afterward, ended up simmering all ingredients together about half an hour. Not only is it delicious, but just look at the ingredients! It's a healthy recipe to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Everybody has been asking not to forget the raisins; yet I did. Inspite of that this was delicious. I added a couple of tablespooons of coriander powder with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
It tasted more like Indian chili than a curry, but still very good. I think next time I'll double the curry powder and par-cook the lentils in 1/2 cup of water, and then only simmer for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greve, Sjælland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I added some water as it simmered and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buddhaful Aud

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States