Vegetarian Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Excellent! The whole family liked this, we had it with some yoghurt. it's not too spicy of a curry on its own, my 1.5 year old ate it plain without problems. I would probably cook the lentils first like another reviewer suggested, I had to stir quite a bit and I added water throughout the hour of simmering. Will definitely go into the recipe box! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I love that I didn't have to change a thing about this recipe! (I did sub pinto beans for the garbanzos, but that was just a preference thing.) It was wonderful and simple and simply wonderful! :) Even my picky kids loved it! This was our first venture in vegetarian cuisine and it was the perfect start! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I loved this recipe. The only suggestion would be if you don't like Garbanzo beans due to the texture, suppliment with great northern white bean. The flavor is so neutral that it doesn't interfere with the original recipe without the super-starchy texture of the garbanzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
simple, healthy, and good. Great served over couscous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Added carrots, cooked lentils seperately, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was really delicious! I left out the raisins because my kids don't care for them. I also pre-cooked the lentils in some chicken broth (I know that negated the vegetarian aspect of the dish, but we're not vegetarian, so I was okay with that). I added the lentils along with the residual broth (about 1-1/2 cups) to the rest of the ingredients and simmered for another 45 minutes. I served this over brown Jasmine rice cooked in chicken broth with a little butter mixed in. This recipe gets 5 stars for flavor, but only 3 stars for preparation because the lentils really do need the pre-cooking and the extra liquid in order to be tender. Overall, the recipe gets 4 stars and we will definitely be having this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Longstocking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
yum! I only used 2 tbsp of curry and I also used coconut oil for a little bit of a sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I agree with an earlier reviewer, tomatoes are overwhelming. Definitely more like a chili than a curry. Also, I reduced the # of servings to 4 and had to add about 2 cups of water throughout the cooking process just to prevent the curry from burning on the bottom of the pot. The added water basically diminished all of the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
A little sweet for us, but otherwise pretty good. Next time I will atleast halve the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: West Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States