Vegetarian Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Thank for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon d bryant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Love this and the many variations I have completed (adjusted for what's on hand) and yes, soften the lentils first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Doubled the raisins, and used golden raisins instead of regular ones. It was very delicious. I served it to a picky vegan friend of mine, and she loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micheleberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Very good, but could use some tweaking. Making your own curry blend would add a fantastic dimension to the meal as the quality of your spice blend will make or break the dish. I also like a spicier curry, this was very mild and I ended up jazzing it up with red pepper flakes and extra cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is excellent and so easy to make! I added more canned tomatoes, beans and I also added coconut milk. I'm not a chef, so to all struggling cooks out there....this is for you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! It will now be a staple in our home! It's so ridiculously easy! Changes I made: I used one can of crushed tomoatoes (about 14 oz insead of 28) and used fire-roasted crushed tomatoes instead of plain. I added about two cups of vegetable broth and one can coconut milk. I also added a tbsp of ground coriander seed. And a pinch of red pepper flakes. It was UH-MA-ZING! YUM YUM YUM. Oh, I didn't pre-cook the lentils, and had no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Fantastic! This was my first time using curry in a dish, and it was a big hit. I went easy on the black pepper because I didn't want it to be too spicy, but next time I'll be more generous ... and maybe add some cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is really good. Don't leave out the raisins...you'll regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was really good! I was skeptical about the raisins but they really added a great, touch of sweetness to the strong flavor of the curry. I followed some of the other reviewers and added about a 1/3 cup of coconut milk right at the end of the cook time and added a tbsp of garam masala when adding the seasonings. This recipe makes a up a full pan of food, so if you are only two persons you can easily cut the recipe in half and probably both still have seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I'm a huge fan. Recipe definitely comes out better if you cook the lentils a head of time or you'll be going through gallons of vegetable broth to cook 'em up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teakettica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States