Vegetable Whip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This really puts some life into mashed potatoes! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Tasty, but I neglected to read the other reviews that said to cook the carrots longer, so they didn't mash up as well. I also added some garlic powder. Great way to use those turnips I get in my CSA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Everyone liked this but didn’t think it was amazing. Golden color gives good visual presentation. One person thought it tasted more like creamed (yellow) squash than mashed potatoes. Essentially, this is a dressed-up version of Basic Mashed Potatoes from this site with a turnip, onion, and carrots thrown in. On the bland side as written but easily fixed by adding preferred seasonings. The real benefit of this dish over plain mashed potatoes is adding high nutrient root vegetables which, as a group, are an excellent source of complex carbohydrates, fiber, potassium and antioxidants. This is a great way to camouflage some root vegetables that might not be eaten if standing alone, especially among young children. Oh, and we roasted the vegetables rather than boil them both because of a preferred taste and not losing substantial nutrients by draining off the standing water. Used a Vitamix to blend. We will make again with personal adjustments. Thank you SNOG for sharing an old French Canadian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
YUM! This one is a keeper! I replaced milk with half & half cream (10% mf), instead of all carrots I added 1/2 carrot 1/2 parsnip mix and served sour cream as a "top-it" option. Very surprising, savoury and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is a great way to make mashed potatoes less guilty! I thought we'd kind of have to choke it back, but I was wrong - it's wonderful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was really good. It had an almost leek and potato soup taste. I thought I cut the carrots smaller than the rest but they were still pretty hard when the rest was done...so make sure you cut them REALLY small for more consistent cooking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
LOVE this! I just roughly mashed the veggies so it was more smashed than whipped. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saunch09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Great way to use up the parsnips I had (which I subbed for turnips). I also subbed leeks for the onions because it is what I had on hand and added a vegetable bouillon cube to the water. I cooked the carrots, parsnips and leeks a bit longer than the potatoes, then used my immersion blender to puree the veggies (the hand mixer wasn't cutting it with the carrots). Came out fluffy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
One less side dish to prepare, woohoo! I used half and half and kind of free poured so I got more liquid in than I should have but it was still good. Folks wondered what veggies I disguised, lol!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These were really yummy! Next time I will steam the carrots then boil them so that they whip up more smoothly. Even my 1 year old and 3 year old ate them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetable and Feta Latkes

What’s the key to crispy latkes? Watch this video and find out.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States