Vegetable Whip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This was a great recipe, a nice change from plain old mashed potatoes. The only thing I will change next time is cooking the carrots a little longer than the other items. Other than that this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
We used parsnip instead of turnip, and added 3/4 cup of sour cream. So yummy, we had them at a table of 10, made a double batch, and had none left at the end of the meal, with requests for them to be at our Thanksgiving table. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A cook in Houston
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
These were so good. The only thing I changes was using evaporated milk instead of plain. One of my guys that I cook for won't eat mashed potaoes, but he loved these. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I did not know that mashed turnip can be so good...I thought I did not need as much butter as suggested in the recipe. though. I mixed in minced persely at the end to make it prettier. Good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is a great way to make mashed potatoes less guilty! I thought we'd kind of have to choke it back, but I was wrong - it's wonderful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I loved this recipe. The only changes I made were that I subtituted the turnip with 1/4 of a head of cauliflower. I also added chicken bouillion to the water that I boiled the veggies in. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This recipe of combined root veggies is French Canadian, Nova Scotian and probably a simple dish prepared by all frugal folks with only root vegetables in their cold cellar during the winter. Your version is great, Jill and you're right, everyone can find their own favourite combo. Thank you for submitting your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I liked the proportions of turnip, carrot, and potato. Boiled onions didn't appeal to me so I just boiled the vegetables without the onion, mashed them with the butter and milk, then added caramelized shallots instead of onion. I didn't need as much milk as it called for, I may have overcooked the potatoes. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Yum! I used parsnip instead of turnip, a great change from plain old mashed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Everyone liked this but didn’t think it was amazing. Golden color gives good visual presentation. One person thought it tasted more like creamed (yellow) squash than mashed potatoes. Essentially, this is a dressed-up version of Basic Mashed Potatoes from this site with a turnip, onion, and carrots thrown in. On the bland side as written but easily fixed by adding preferred seasonings. The real benefit of this dish over plain mashed potatoes is adding high nutrient root vegetables which, as a group, are an excellent source of complex carbohydrates, fiber, potassium and antioxidants. This is a great way to camouflage some root vegetables that might not be eaten if standing alone, especially among young children. Oh, and we roasted the vegetables rather than boil them both because of a preferred taste and not losing substantial nutrients by draining off the standing water. Used a Vitamix to blend. We will make again with personal adjustments. Thank you SNOG for sharing an old French Canadian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States