Vegetable Whip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These were really yummy! Next time I will steam the carrots then boil them so that they whip up more smoothly. Even my 1 year old and 3 year old ate them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I liked the proportions of turnip, carrot, and potato. Boiled onions didn't appeal to me so I just boiled the vegetables without the onion, mashed them with the butter and milk, then added caramelized shallots instead of onion. I didn't need as much milk as it called for, I may have overcooked the potatoes. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
It was a little bland, and I agree that the turnip had a lot of water so it was more watery than regular mashed potatoes (I thought my bf didn't drain the pot properly!) Next time I would experiment with adding other spices, but the mixture was very nice together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very good, the turnip has a lot of water in it, so may want to add more potatoes than turnip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and we loved it! The flavors were delicious together and it was great way to dress up "boring old potatoes." I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEZEPP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Hubby and I found this dish to have little flavor. There are too many recipes out there with the right combination of vegetables and seasonings already that I don't feel compelled to tinker with this one. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Pretty good...took advice from other reviewers- used yukon golds, put chicken bouillon granules in water and used evaporated milk. Hubby thought it was a little bland, I should've added sour cream. You really need to cook the carrots well; I thought I did, but carrots didn't whip up. I think next time I will leave out onion as some didn't whip up either and kind of ruined the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Fantastic! An easy comfort food for a cold winter night. I used Yukon Golds for the potatoes and the whip turned out creamy and delicious with very little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I loved this recipe. The only changes I made were that I subtituted the turnip with 1/4 of a head of cauliflower. I also added chicken bouillion to the water that I boiled the veggies in. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I did not know that mashed turnip can be so good...I thought I did not need as much butter as suggested in the recipe. though. I mixed in minced persely at the end to make it prettier. Good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetable and Feta Latkes

What’s the key to crispy latkes? Watch this video and find out.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States