Vegetable Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was a nice change from a regular veggie stew-but I don't really care for the raisins. They were like biting into a ball of sugar. I would also use a different type of bean. The garbanzo beans stayed too firm to blend with the rest of the stew. I would try navy beans or cannelloni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly and am so pleased with the results. It's a great way to use the garden veggies and the kids love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I loved this recipe, though I have made it slightly differently each time I put it together. I usually reduce the amount of broth substitute canned chopped tomatoes for the fresh and don't drain them. I also like to cut up some fresh cauliflower and lay across the top to steam and absorb the flavor. Sometimes I add a bit of mild yellow curry powder and maybe just a 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne powder. I have added plain old cubed white potatoes when I didn't have eggplant, butternut squash cubes or Mexican squash instead of zucchini, and substituted craisins or chopped dried prunes for the raisins. You can pretty much use what you have and vary the amounts as needed or to taste. The only veg I didn't like in it was broccoli - it became sort of bitter after cooking. It does make a lot of food; my solution is to share with friends or neighbors! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Kids did not like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very enjoyable. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Wow, this was SO good. The flavors were wonderful together. The only thing I might do differently next time is to wait a little longer before adding the zucchini and eggplant, since they turned to mush after 45 minutes of simmering. Maybe I'll add them after the other veggies have cooked for 15 or 20 minutes, or maybe with the chickpeas next time. Oh, and I might reduce the broth by a cup or two. Still, this recipe is great as it is, and I am really looking forward to my leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
We loved this dish. I used a butternut squash in place of sweet potatoes and green beans instead of chickpeas. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was very good and easy to make. However I doubled+ the spices, used only about 2/3 of the veggies (to make a smaller batch), added a dash of cayenne to balance the sweetness, and served with pearled couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
good recipe and, yes, makes a lot! I made the following changes: Added 2 chicken breasts cut up(cooked first w/ the onions and garlic); upped the spices to 1/2tsp each and added ginger and paprika (prob. needed more of all spices); no eggplant or green pepper; 2 zucchinis; can tomatoes; some leftover butternut squash with the sweet potatoes; served with quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really great recipe! Perfect for this cold winter night. I made it vegetarian by using vegetable stock instead of chicken stock. I also followed the others' advice: I used ginger, cayenne, and paprika, in addition to the spices listed. I ended up using 1/2 tsp of each (except the cayenne) and I thought it was perfect. And it had just enough kick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States