Vegetable Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
We loved this dish. I used a butternut squash in place of sweet potatoes and green beans instead of chickpeas. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
We loved this! I used butternut squash instead of eggplant and zucchini, and the taste was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Wow, this was SO good. The flavors were wonderful together. The only thing I might do differently next time is to wait a little longer before adding the zucchini and eggplant, since they turned to mush after 45 minutes of simmering. Maybe I'll add them after the other veggies have cooked for 15 or 20 minutes, or maybe with the chickpeas next time. Oh, and I might reduce the broth by a cup or two. Still, this recipe is great as it is, and I am really looking forward to my leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I loved this recipe, though I have made it slightly differently each time I put it together. I usually reduce the amount of broth substitute canned chopped tomatoes for the fresh and don't drain them. I also like to cut up some fresh cauliflower and lay across the top to steam and absorb the flavor. Sometimes I add a bit of mild yellow curry powder and maybe just a 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne powder. I have added plain old cubed white potatoes when I didn't have eggplant, butternut squash cubes or Mexican squash instead of zucchini, and substituted craisins or chopped dried prunes for the raisins. You can pretty much use what you have and vary the amounts as needed or to taste. The only veg I didn't like in it was broccoli - it became sort of bitter after cooking. It does make a lot of food; my solution is to share with friends or neighbors! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Kids did not like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This turned out really well. I threw in some sausage that I had to use up, other than that I didn't change anything. It makes a lot, but you can always freeze some. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This recipe was great! Actually tasted very authentic with the exception of not actually cooking in a tagine.. I tried to mimic one of my favorite tagines I had in Morocco, so substituted the eggplant for two large red potatoes and upped the spices to 1/2 tsp. apiece and added saffron. Very good, and definitely feeds an army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really great recipe! Perfect for this cold winter night. I made it vegetarian by using vegetable stock instead of chicken stock. I also followed the others' advice: I used ginger, cayenne, and paprika, in addition to the spices listed. I ended up using 1/2 tsp of each (except the cayenne) and I thought it was perfect. And it had just enough kick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was very good and easy to make. However I doubled+ the spices, used only about 2/3 of the veggies (to make a smaller batch), added a dash of cayenne to balance the sweetness, and served with pearled couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This receipe makes 8 - 10 servings, especially if it is served over couscous! It adapted easily to a slow cooker: garlic, onion and oil on the bottom (did not pre-cook these), then peppers, carrots and sweet potato. Eggplant around the sides and the tomato and squash on the top--it cooked together beautifully and required only 1 can of broth instead of 3 when cooked this way. I added the garbanzo beans at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States