Vegetable-Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This recipe was amazing, however I did make quite a few changes. First off, I followed the advice of others and did not marinate the mushrooms. Instead, I put some balsamic vinegar and garlic powder in a bowl and just dipped the bottom of the mushrooms in the mixture, and also dropped a few drops of it inside of each mushroom, just so that they would have a hint of flavor. For the vegetables, I used finely cubed eggplant, a half a bag of baby spinach and I also finely chopped up the mushroom stems and added them along with salt, pepper, garlic powder, cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes to taste. I layered the vegetable mixture on the mushrooms with goat cheese and cooked for 15 minutes uncovered and 10 minutes covered. My boyfriend could not stop raving about them! They were really perfect. I served them with maple mashed sweet potatoes and white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Alimonos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The vinegar REALLY overpowered the other ingredients, even though I only marinated the mushrooms for about 15 minutes. Next time I'll omit the vinegar, brush the mushrooms with olive oil and sprinkle them with the seasonings that would have been mixed with the vinegar. Also, they could have baked about 5-10 min longer than instructed. These changes might make it five stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
After reading the reviews, instead of marinating the mushrooms in the balsamic mixture I just lightly rubbed the mushrooms with it before stuffing. Perfect, and the filling is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was excellent! The only changes I made were to rub a little balsamic on the portobellos and bake for 10 minutes before adding the stuffing, as suggested by another review and I added a few chopped garlic cloves to the eggplant and spinach (just because I add garlic to everything). Delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This recipe is so flexible and that makes it fantastic. Like many other reviewers, I needed to be a bit creative about what I had in the fridge. I used only 1/2c balsamic vinegar and still had some to spare after marinating. Instead of frozen spinach, I used about 5 leaves of chopped fresh kale, omitted the tomatoes, added in some button mushrooms, swapped shredded jack and cheddar for mozzarella, and I LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made this with a side of couscous and it balanced out just enough of the brininess of the artichoke and made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was very tasty and a nice way to eat more veggies. I added feta cheese which add some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Mushrooms soaked up too much of the vinegar and was way overpowering. I had to throw out the mushrooms and just eat the stuffing. That was an expensive dish to make and it went down the garbage disposal! Plus, it wasn't hot. Right out of the oven, the mushrooms were just room tempiture. Yes, I had the oven preheated to 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
These were soooo tasty! I've been asked to add this to my "definitely make again" list :) I used zucchini instead of eggplant, and fresh spinach instead of frozen. I made 2 of them without the cheese, and they were still super tasty. I served these over angel hair pasta that had been seasoned lightly with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder, tossed in a little olive oil and dusted with parm. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
So, my husband challenged me to make something with portabella mushroom & veg. That taste good & is healthy. I' ve never used this mushroom before. So, I found this recipe & gave it a go. Followed the recipe except I didn't have spinach so I used squash & I sprinkled parsley ontop. I added less vinegar & spiced the veg. I topped it on spagetti squash sautted with olive oil & garlic.Next time I'll try the spinach but, I think it would taste better if it's cooked on the broiler pan so the liquid drains off. I won the bet he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States