Vegetable Stuffed Cannelloni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I made some changes to the recipe, but only because I was feeling "creative" that day! What I ended up with was delicious and I'm sure the recipe as originally given would have been just as good. I cannot eat bell peppers so I substituted yellow squash. I couldn't find shallots so I used small green onions. Because I used a large eggplant and then added the squash, I had filling for 14 noodles and even had some filling left over. That meant I needed more sauce to cook the dish in so, I added a can of Del Monte Italian Stewed Tomatoes (pureed) and a can of tomato sauce. I liked the flavor the cream and wine added to the tomato sauce. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This recipe is wonderful. A little bit of work, but I made it ahead of time with pre-cooked cannelloni shells. By the time I went to cook it they had cracked a bit, due to putting hot sauce in them. But it still tasted fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This recipe is fantastic. I couldnt find cannelloni noodles, but found that manicotti noodles work just as well. Don't overboil the noodles! they only need a few minutes in a water, so save that part for last. This is my new favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Very tasty - especially for a vegetable only dish. Not the healthiest thing you could eat but it's good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Kirby, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
A great dish how can you mess with shallots, garlic, sherry and cream in a sauce!The flavors all worked so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was a fantastic recipe -- and it took me FOREVER to make it... It says "45 minutes prep time," but it took me much longer (start to finish more like 2 and a half hours). If you had 2 people working on it, one working on reducing the cream sauce and the other working on the stuffing, it would go along much faster. If you're going to invest the time in this (and it is delicious -- really), consider making a double batch and freezing some for later. It would make an excellent meal for a party because you can do most of it ahead of time... just serve it with a nice salad and some bread and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
add chicken and its perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Really awesome dish I have only made it a couple times because it takes so long to prepare. But this is fancy resturant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliciamaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Harrison, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Excellent recipe, especially for vegetarians. Manicotti would be easier than cannelloni to stuff. Not sure why I had so much stuffing left. But it is very tasty, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Wow! This was terrific. Time consuming, but we made it a fun girl-night project and divided the labor. Had 1/2 the sherry (cause my husband likes to drink it before I get to cook with it) but it still turned out fabulous. Didn't have mushrooms, but it didn't matter. Still had enough to stuff 16 cannelloni with original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States