Vegetable Spoon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
So good. I added a little onion powder and finely diced red pepper which I highly recommend. This takes longer in the oven than called for- 50 minutes total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
HUGE hit with my family! Being the only person in my family who eats vegetables, I am regularly looking for sneaky ways to add more in there... This was, yet another smash hit! It has already been requested as a regular dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2A_Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jenks, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This stuff is the bomb. I didn't have the Packaged corn muffin mix so I used 8 oz. of regular corn bread mix. The only other change I made was I had a little chopped onion left from another recipe and I just threw it in for good measure. I did let it cook till the entire thing was set ( it took about 45 mins)But well worth the wait. I'll be making this again and very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Superbowl Sunday. I'd been looking for recipes that I could use the pulp left over when I make green juice. This has potential. Here we go. I made the recipe, substituting my green juice pulp for the spinach. My pulp was mostly green with some carrot visable too. I ate this for breakfast with some waldorf salad and a few strips of bacon. I can’t say the the Veggie Spoon Bread really knocked my socks off, but it was good, and went well with the other items. Also, I took a cue from Ms7up and baked longer than directed the bread would set. It is likely that I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made this recipe using butter instead of margarine and substituted a buttermilk corn muffin mix for a sweet one. It was absolutely DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Really good recipe. I guess I'm under the understanding that spoon bread is just as it means. Spooning it out. I would have done so but the middle was still very liquidy and to my family's preference, not appetizing, so I kept batch in the oven for about 10 minutes longer, so that I could cut out and plate with dinner verse it looking a little sloppy. Having said that. We liked the recipe very much in the extended baking time. Even my son took a bite and said it was ok, for he's not a spinach lover but did say he couldn't taste the spinach at all. But I really liked it. It wasn't over fabulous, just really good. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this for my Easter dinner and everyone loved it. I had only compliments. I did leave it in the oven a little longer til the top was completely firm. I made no other changes. I will make it again, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This really wasn't anything that special. I'd prefer plain cornbread to this, and I do like spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Anything that makes my kid eat spinach is worth 10 stars so I wish I could give it more! I loved it too. Soooooo good. If you try it you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I have never made spoon bread before and didn't know what to expect. It is a really sweet, moist cross between a casserole and bread. We had it with ribs and corn on the cob and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States