Vegetable Soup - Irish Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
OMG.. I can't stop eatingthis... even without making the puree part.. just used chicken broth instead of all water... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUPERCAT912
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This soup is very healthy and tastes great. I added in bay leaves, rosemary, celery seed, salt, white pepper, black pepper, and garlic. I will experiment with different herbs and seasonings next time. I did not drain the water out after I boiled the vegetables. I used my immersion blender to partially blend the soup, leaving a few chunks of vegetables. I did thicken it a little with a cornstarch and water mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I just spent several weeks touring the Northern half of Ireland and Northern Ireland and this is exactly how the soup was served at every restaurant and B&B I visited (I had it nearly every day it is so good!) You could tell the mix of veggies would vary slightly but it was also blended and served with a hearty brown bread. I know there were some comments about potatoes not being used or the soup not being blended, maybe a regional thing? Not sure, but this recipe is very good - I added some celery because I enjoy the flavor. Green split peas added and blended with the soup is also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Fortunately, I was looking at all of the reviewers comments while making this soup AND "The Splendid Table" was playing on the radio. I look at this soup as a sofrito. A base from which to grow. I sauteed carrots, leeks, onion, and turnips in the fat which I had just seared pork ribs (for the slow-cooker) to which I added French grey sea salt and fresh ground pepper. Last, I added red fingerling potatoes. This took about an hour to soften and cook. To this I added the cup and a half of veg stock (from Trader Joe's). Let the vegetables cook for 20 minutes. Pureed half of the vegetable mixture then reintroduced it to the pot. Before serving add a half cup of cheese (like a nice sharp cheddar) and a half cup of cream (or half and half to warm). Of course, it is not vegetarian. Butter or olive oil could be substituted easily for those who are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I loved this recipe! Just got back from Ireland and it tasted exactly like the soup we had there. Instead of water, I used chicken broth and I also added a little (maybe 1/4 cup) of cream. Served it with parmesan scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
As a new vegatrian, I'm also looking for new recipes. As the last review I would use vegatable stock instead of the beef or chicken stock. This is a hardy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving this year. I used kosher salt, omitted the pepper, added garlic and only pureed have the soup for an even mixture of chunky and smooth. Got great reviews. When I reheated the soup I sometimes added butter to my individual serving. I think a tangy cheese would go nicely. What I have in the end probably isn't Irish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I left out the potato flakes and added some barley instead. I also only half pureed so some of the veggies were still there. I thought it was very good though a little lacking in spice. Next time I make it I think I will use vegetable broth instead of water to correct that. I enjoyed it, as a vegetarian I would never use chicken broth so all the reviews that suggest meat ingredients are missing the vegetarian part of the recipe. I know it isn't authentic Irish food but that's because it's changed up for vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I went to Ireland last year and this soup was so much like the ones I had there. I cooked the veggies in about a 1.5 cups of water and then just puréed it in the pot. I can't wait to try other combinations. In Ireland there were some of the soups that were pea based. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe is pretty good- but I found it didn't exactly match that Irish Soup I had been missing. Instead of some of the veggies in the recipe, I added broccoli, which I found to be the key ingredient in the Irish soups I had had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States