Vegetable Soup - Irish Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Although this recipe is a nice soup it is not traditional irish veg soup. In Ireland we never would blend any part of traditional vegetable soup, we cut the veg up to desired size before adding. Also this soup starts with first making home made stock using either a beef bone or chicken carcass. Then all the vegetables are added and left to simmer and near end you add seasoning. Potato is not used as a vegetable in soup. It is served with a whole boiled potato placed in bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I hate being the first reviewer, but here goes nothing. This has a good flavor to it in spite of the lack of seasoning. I had never used parsnips, turnips, or leeks before but I would use them all again after this. I would not, however, put all of a stew in the blender again. I wish I had only blended half of the stew so that there would still be some texture to it. It came out more like a root vegetable mash than a stew or soup. I cook the vegetables in chicken broth instead of water and didn't drain off anything. I still needed to use several cups of water to to turn this into anything resembling "soup". I made this for St. Paddy's day dinner but no one ate much of it. It looked unappealing and probably should have less carrots or carrots cooked separately so that the color looks less like orange-y mud. Be sure to watch the veggies closely as they cook so that they don't brown. It was tasty though and shows some real potential for alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Excellent soup:) - the changes I made were that I added red lentils, barley, split peas, garlic, and used chicken stock instead of water. Also I only part pureed so that it was creamy but still partially chunky - more like a soup than a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlow, County Carlow, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Why would you thorow out hte water the veg cooked in? and then add fresh water with no flavour This has all the vegetable vitamins you boiled out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Just got back from a trip to Ireland and this didnt taste anything like the soup I had several times while there. The color and texture was right, but this seems like an unfinished recipe. I substitued range free chicken broth for the water, but that wasnt enough and I ended up having to add a bunch of seasonings in order to give this soup some flavor. It seems like it's got potential, but it would be nice to have some additional instructions as far as seasoning. I compared to a few other recipes on the internet and ended up adding chicken boullion, cumin, thyme and sage. It helped alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I loved this recipe! Just got back from Ireland and it tasted exactly like the soup we had there. Instead of water, I used chicken broth and I also added a little (maybe 1/4 cup) of cream. Served it with parmesan scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving this year. I used kosher salt, omitted the pepper, added garlic and only pureed have the soup for an even mixture of chunky and smooth. Got great reviews. When I reheated the soup I sometimes added butter to my individual serving. I think a tangy cheese would go nicely. What I have in the end probably isn't Irish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I left out the potato flakes and added some barley instead. I also only half pureed so some of the veggies were still there. I thought it was very good though a little lacking in spice. Next time I make it I think I will use vegetable broth instead of water to correct that. I enjoyed it, as a vegetarian I would never use chicken broth so all the reviews that suggest meat ingredients are missing the vegetarian part of the recipe. I know it isn't authentic Irish food but that's because it's changed up for vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe is pretty good- but I found it didn't exactly match that Irish Soup I had been missing. Instead of some of the veggies in the recipe, I added broccoli, which I found to be the key ingredient in the Irish soups I had had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Good basic soup. I sautee the vegetables in a little butter, then add chicken stock to cook. I omitted the potato flakes and use a little cream to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AppleCiderMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States