Vegetable Soup - Irish Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
As a new vegatrian, I'm also looking for new recipes. As the last review I would use vegatable stock instead of the beef or chicken stock. This is a hardy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I left out the potato flakes and added some barley instead. I also only half pureed so some of the veggies were still there. I thought it was very good though a little lacking in spice. Next time I make it I think I will use vegetable broth instead of water to correct that. I enjoyed it, as a vegetarian I would never use chicken broth so all the reviews that suggest meat ingredients are missing the vegetarian part of the recipe. I know it isn't authentic Irish food but that's because it's changed up for vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Although this recipe is a nice soup it is not traditional irish veg soup. In Ireland we never would blend any part of traditional vegetable soup, we cut the veg up to desired size before adding. Also this soup starts with first making home made stock using either a beef bone or chicken carcass. Then all the vegetables are added and left to simmer and near end you add seasoning. Potato is not used as a vegetable in soup. It is served with a whole boiled potato placed in bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I made some of the changes suggested by other reviewers: using chicken stock to simmer the vegetables, no potato flakes but adding about 1/2 cup barley, and pureeing about 2 cups of the soup (not the whole thing). I've been using a seasoning of a mixture of organic herbs. With that added, no other seasonings are necessary and the soup is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe is pretty good- but I found it didn't exactly match that Irish Soup I had been missing. Instead of some of the veggies in the recipe, I added broccoli, which I found to be the key ingredient in the Irish soups I had had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Just got back from a trip to Ireland and this didnt taste anything like the soup I had several times while there. The color and texture was right, but this seems like an unfinished recipe. I substitued range free chicken broth for the water, but that wasnt enough and I ended up having to add a bunch of seasonings in order to give this soup some flavor. It seems like it's got potential, but it would be nice to have some additional instructions as far as seasoning. I compared to a few other recipes on the internet and ended up adding chicken boullion, cumin, thyme and sage. It helped alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I loved this recipe! Just got back from Ireland and it tasted exactly like the soup we had there. Instead of water, I used chicken broth and I also added a little (maybe 1/4 cup) of cream. Served it with parmesan scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
A good and filling soup. I took the suggestion and only pureed half. I like some big chunks of potato in mine so I used large potatoes and also some baby new potatoes. I also cooked in some whole shallots to add a little zing - be sure to take these out though, a whole boiled shallot isn't too nice! :). Overall a tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Great taste even though I couldn't find parsnips. First time I've ever used leeks and I really like them. My only complaint is the texture. I will puree only half next time. Served with dark beer and Irish soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was good and filling. Followed a suggestion and added barley and split peas. Also added about 1/2 lb beef stew meat (in small pieces). A bit bland, but extra garlic and seasoned salt helped with that. Kids opinions varied - 2 came back for seconds, 1 could hardly finish her first helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States