Vegetable Soup - Irish Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
We used to have this as a child but not as soup. We had it as a side dish. I make this but minus the potato flakes and leeks. We called it smashed veggies. Of course we added butter and mild to the final dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Bland at best. More work than it's worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I just spent several weeks touring the Northern half of Ireland and Northern Ireland and this is exactly how the soup was served at every restaurant and B&B I visited (I had it nearly every day it is so good!) You could tell the mix of veggies would vary slightly but it was also blended and served with a hearty brown bread. I know there were some comments about potatoes not being used or the soup not being blended, maybe a regional thing? Not sure, but this recipe is very good - I added some celery because I enjoy the flavor. Green split peas added and blended with the soup is also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUPERCAT912
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This soup is very healthy and tastes great. I added in bay leaves, rosemary, celery seed, salt, white pepper, black pepper, and garlic. I will experiment with different herbs and seasonings next time. I did not drain the water out after I boiled the vegetables. I used my immersion blender to partially blend the soup, leaving a few chunks of vegetables. I did thicken it a little with a cornstarch and water mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I went to Ireland last year and this soup was so much like the ones I had there. I cooked the veggies in about a 1.5 cups of water and then just puréed it in the pot. I can't wait to try other combinations. In Ireland there were some of the soups that were pea based. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Why would you thorow out hte water the veg cooked in? and then add fresh water with no flavour This has all the vegetable vitamins you boiled out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving this year. I used kosher salt, omitted the pepper, added garlic and only pureed have the soup for an even mixture of chunky and smooth. Got great reviews. When I reheated the soup I sometimes added butter to my individual serving. I think a tangy cheese would go nicely. What I have in the end probably isn't Irish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Good basic soup. I sautee the vegetables in a little butter, then add chicken stock to cook. I omitted the potato flakes and use a little cream to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AppleCiderMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
OMG.. I can't stop eatingthis... even without making the puree part.. just used chicken broth instead of all water... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
As a new vegatrian, I'm also looking for new recipes. As the last review I would use vegatable stock instead of the beef or chicken stock. This is a hardy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States