Vegetable Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This soup was absolutely delicious! Added & onion with hot salsa instead of mild. It gave it a little extra flavor & kick. Will be making again this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I had a lorge bag of frozen mixed veggies I wanted to use and did a search to find suitable recipes. This recipe exactly served my purpose - it was easy and tasty as well. As my bag was big, I did not use the fresh carrots or celery - no matter, the soup tasted fresh. I sauteed onion and garlic first, added a handful of noodles to make the soup a little more substantial, and added seasoned salt & a little Italian seasoning. All the family enjoyed it. I would have liked it a little spicier, but used a mild chunky salsa to suit my husband's preference. I'm sure we will have this again with sandwiches or salad this winter for a nice light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Easiest soup I've ever made, and it's soo good. I love that it's basically broth, salsa, and whatever veggies you have on hand or want to use up, because you can always keep salsa and broth in your pantry. It's incredibly healthy too. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Good I guess.....just a little to vegtably for me I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was pretty good. I used what vegetables I had on hand, and added in some others that needed to be used up. I added a little extra salsa towards the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Nice idea. I thought it was good with "extras" like hot sauce and tortilla chips. My husband did not like eating "warm salsa"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Good basic vegetable soup. Just no WOW factor. I had to add sauted chopped onion and garlic, before adding all the other ingredients. Also threw in some cubed leftover grilled chicken and some pre-cooked soup beans. I think you would have to really modify this a lot for it to be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
My first pass at this was too chicken-y for me--but that's probably because I used homemade chicken stock with a ton of flavor. Next time I'll try it without the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
It's a good base to work with but it can be done with cheaper ingredients. Still a fast way to whip up a good base for the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Yummmmmm. I changed this recipe a lot but followed the spirit of it--you can really add/omit anything you want to that tasty broth. I added red beans and rice to make it more filling, omitted celery and carrots and added onions and zucchini. I love Mexican inspired soups and this hit the spot on a cold rainy day. Still only 140 calories per serving even with my additions. Downside--a TON of sodium. Try low-sodium chicken broth and (if such a thing exists) no salt added salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States