Vegetable Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Made this with a few modifications. I used two parsnips (one big, one small), three skinny carrots and one huge sweet potato. I sliced and cubed them to relatively the same size and let boil for 15 minutes to be sure they were cooked through. I downsized the mushrooms to about a cup (fiancé isn't a big fan of the 'shrooms) and used "mignon" leeks (pre-packaged leeks that are already trimmed down to the white) which I thinly sliced. Sautéed in butter-flavoured margarine; added the flour and cooked until almost brown (I was afraid it would burn if I let it get brown) and poured in a cup of water/a tablespoon of chicken soup base as well as half a cup of white wine/a tablespoon of chicken soup base. Whisked it all in and let it thicken. Tossed in the other vegetables and coated them in the sauce. I used a 9-inch deep dish pie pan (it's the only pie pan I own). I used a little less baking mix simply because my pan was smaller than the one used by the recipe submitter. I did not scoop the mixture over the vegetables; I instead poured it all over the top and spread it as thin as possible leaving a few spots uncovered to let the steam seep out of the pie. I like that this savoury pie is almost crust-less, with just a light biscuit-like topping (saving on calories!). I thought making little “blind spots” to let the steam seep out of the pie would work, however it didn’t as there is some leakage. Oh well, that’s my mistake and gives me a reason to clean the oven, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I had my eye on another, more complicated veggie pot pie recipe, but I'm so glad I went with this one! I used a few different vegetables and added some green beans for color, but you could do any vegetable combination and this would work. The parsnips, however, add a really nice flavor to the mix. I have an abundance of parsley, so I used that instead of thyme, adding it to the roux as well as the biscuit mix. Since I'm stubborn and try to make everything from scratch, I just used a standard drop biscuit dough, using half whole wheat, half all purpose flour. No matter what changes or substitutions you make, this is a comfort food recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentexplorer13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and though this smelled good, it didn't taste very good. It was just ok. It created a lot of dirty dishes (pot, skillet, pie dish, bowl, cutting board, knife etc (which I don't appreciate) and I feel it wasn't worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Excellent! Use Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits by Kimberly Nuttall, with or without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I used a red skin potato instead of a sweet potato and I also substituted 1/2 cup of the vegetable broth for 1/2 cup sauvignon blanc. It was delicious - I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I did alter this a bit based on what I had in my fridge. Used turnips instead of parsnips, skipped potatoes and mushrooms but subbed with yellow squash and used beef broth. Overall it was easy and filling, but still a bit bland. I will make this again but next time season a bit more and add more herbs...i think a bit of rosemary and even some fennel seed would have given it a bit more pizzaz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I have made this pie twice and it's been delicious both times! The first time I followed the recipe exactly and the second time, because I didn't have any mushrooms and my daughter doesn't like them, I substituted some frozen peas and sweet corn. The only difficulty I seem to have is with the topping - it tends to be cooked on top but a a bit soggy underneath. Next time I'm going to cook it on a baking sheet and just lay it on top of the pie before serving it. Other than that it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Turned out very tasty. I added extra veggies(broccoli, colored peppers,bok choy, and finely chopped kale) and substituted lower sodium chicken stock, Italian Seasoning and canned biscuits. We will be having this on a regular basis. I am not a vegetarian but we never missed the meat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I modified this heavily but I loved the result. Instead of the parsnips I used about 3/4c of green lentils prepared separately with vegetable broth and the amount of hot sauce from the recipe + added to the root veggies before I put it in the stove (cheaper and more protein). Also, I used 3/4c green onions instead of leeks and used shiitakes for 1/2 the mushrooms (CSA box had both this week). I didn't boil the carrots separately, just added them to the pan a few minutes before the other stuff (I had some broiled sweet potato left over, so I didn't have to make that separately either). I did 1/8 extra tsp thyme, about 1/2 tsp rosemary, and 1/4 tsp cayenne in addition to the seasoning in the recipe, and I didn't make the crust. I just served it over whole wheat couscous since I'm trying to avoid white flour and processed food. So, not a true pot pie at all the way I made it, but a delicious stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States