Vegetable Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Made these as written, but added half a can of mushroom soup to the filling. Next time I would leave out the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Waaaaaaaaay too much flour for this recipe. I used about half of the white flour recipe. Still turned out dry. The flavor was good but not really that moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I would be really interested in making this... does anyone have any suggestions as to how to make the pastry come out softer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I thought this was great, but I have to admit that I used frozen Puff Pastry - I've NEVER been successful with pastry-making, too heavy handed perhaps. I can think of so many fillings based on this basic one - it's a versatile dish, very easy and quick. Cooked, they freeze well, too. Leah from Qld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
These were not bad,the filling was tasty but I agree with others, a bit dry.I come from Micigan and loved the pasties from the UP. People from all over the country come there just to get one.They are made with beef and suet is added for moisture texture and flavor.The end product is a large delicious meat pie, It is served with a brown gravy and is piping hot.Those Cornish miners from years ago wrapped them up in a warm cloth and put them in a metal container. When they ate them hours later they were still warm.The making of a pastie is a long laborious procedure.On that note I will give a 4 star rating as the filling was tasty..But...I will still make a true pastie once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
The filling of this is great, I will say though be careful not to overwork the dough or it will be hard as a rock. Try to work the dough as little as possible to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I thought the crust was extrememly dry. The filling was excellent--I added browned ground beef to the mix. I think this would be really good with a different pastry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This rating is based on the pastry only as I did my own thing for the filling. It turned out lovely, I followed it exactly, tender and a deep golden colour, amount was bang on 8 huge ones. Hubby and 2 adult sons were very impressed ( I can see fights for the leftover ones!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
First time making pasties (apparently the correct pronunciation is "past-eez"), and was a bit disappointed, especially considering all the time one puts in to make them from scratch. They were not a hit with my family. Although the filling was good, the pastry was thick and very dry (perhaps the whole wheat flour was the culprit here ?). The maximum amount of filling I could fit in one was about 2/3 cup, and this was even after rolling out the dough to 9" diameter. After making the eight pasties, I still ended up with 8 cups of vegetable mixture left over (it won't go to waste). Unless you have a really LARGE skillet, you may find you'll need a large roasting pan to cook the veggies. Use a small turnip; this will reduce the amount of excess. 45 minutes baking time was more than necessary. I removed my final batch after 35 min., and the pastry was just as hard as if I had left it in for the full 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I really enjoyed these, but the guys thought they we're missing something (a bit dry). So, they ended up dipping them in ketchup and BBQ sauce...you see what I put up with! But I will definately make them again, but tweek with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SequoiaSkye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States