Vegetable Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I would be really interested in making this... does anyone have any suggestions as to how to make the pastry come out softer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I thought this was great, but I have to admit that I used frozen Puff Pastry - I've NEVER been successful with pastry-making, too heavy handed perhaps. I can think of so many fillings based on this basic one - it's a versatile dish, very easy and quick. Cooked, they freeze well, too. Leah from Qld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
These were not bad,the filling was tasty but I agree with others, a bit dry.I come from Micigan and loved the pasties from the UP. People from all over the country come there just to get one.They are made with beef and suet is added for moisture texture and flavor.The end product is a large delicious meat pie, It is served with a brown gravy and is piping hot.Those Cornish miners from years ago wrapped them up in a warm cloth and put them in a metal container. When they ate them hours later they were still warm.The making of a pastie is a long laborious procedure.On that note I will give a 4 star rating as the filling was tasty..But...I will still make a true pastie once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
The filling of this is great, I will say though be careful not to overwork the dough or it will be hard as a rock. Try to work the dough as little as possible to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I thought the crust was extrememly dry. The filling was excellent--I added browned ground beef to the mix. I think this would be really good with a different pastry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This rating is based on the pastry only as I did my own thing for the filling. It turned out lovely, I followed it exactly, tender and a deep golden colour, amount was bang on 8 huge ones. Hubby and 2 adult sons were very impressed ( I can see fights for the leftover ones!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
First time making pasties (apparently the correct pronunciation is "past-eez"), and was a bit disappointed, especially considering all the time one puts in to make them from scratch. They were not a hit with my family. Although the filling was good, the pastry was thick and very dry (perhaps the whole wheat flour was the culprit here ?). The maximum amount of filling I could fit in one was about 2/3 cup, and this was even after rolling out the dough to 9" diameter. After making the eight pasties, I still ended up with 8 cups of vegetable mixture left over (it won't go to waste). Unless you have a really LARGE skillet, you may find you'll need a large roasting pan to cook the veggies. Use a small turnip; this will reduce the amount of excess. 45 minutes baking time was more than necessary. I removed my final batch after 35 min., and the pastry was just as hard as if I had left it in for the full 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I really enjoyed these, but the guys thought they we're missing something (a bit dry). So, they ended up dipping them in ketchup and BBQ sauce...you see what I put up with! But I will definately make them again, but tweek with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SequoiaSkye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I was particularly looking for a chicken vegie pasty recipe. So I just added 1/2 kilo of diced breast chicken, swapped the vegie cube for a chicken cube and got thumbs up all round. Thanx for a great 'fast food'at home dina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States