Vegetable Medley I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Needs a lot more herbs. But turned out great! I used olive oil spray, a little on the pan and some directly on the veggies. I added 1 tsp tarragon, 1 tsp Italian seasoning, 3 bay leaves, 1 tsp cilantro, 1/2 cup moz cheese, 1/2 cup chopped asparagus, 2 tsp (chili paste from the publix produce section so good). I drained the tomoatoes and cooked it all stovetop. Great healthy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simplylindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
As written, this recipe is just ok. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. 30 minutes in the oven is definitely too long--after 20, I took it out and put it back in the pan for just a few minutes to add the parmesan. The taste was good, but it was far too mushy and watery. I thought it would be better over pasta, so I tried it again, using the same ingredients, only left it in the oven for about 12 minutes, again returned it to the pan to add parmesan and to reduce it a little. Then I tossed it with some bowtie pasta, and I thought it was definitely much better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cut Off, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Since I love zucchini cooked Italian style, with olive oil, garlic, onion and tomatoes, I thought I'd like this variation as well. But I really wasn't crazy about it. I couldn't see sticking this in the oven once it was already cooked, so I didn't. You run the risk of turning it to mush. I used fresh oregano and basil and found it distracting with the mildly flavored zucchini. I found the same with the bell peppers as well. I found it all overbearing. Since tomatoes are in season now, I used fresh, which is a good choice when they're available. But the flavors just didn't come together for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was a very good recipe...actually my first using summer squash. I halved the amount of oregano and that was still plenty for us. Even my picky husband tried it and went back for a second helping. Thanks, we will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I love this recipe! I make it at least once a week all through the year. It's best during the summer season. The only difference is that I use red peppers opposed to green and fresh basil and parsley along with the oregano and I usually do it in a big saute pan. Too hot in the summer for the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I was really impressed with this. I didn't expect too much, but it turned out great. I will certainly be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Very tasty and hearty, I cut back on the cheese to make it lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciv
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Mmmmmmm, good. I'm dieting and I made this as a main dish, doubling the recipe for larger portions. Still low enough ihn calories for my diet and filling enough to hold me over til the next meal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This was great. I made this for a side dish and my son who ususally does not eat squash. Gobbled it up faster than I did. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sledge, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This was wonderful! I made this according to the recipe but I used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of 16 oz and I did not have the watery problem some have experienced. I served this with Rice-a-roni on the side but it would have gone well over pasta since it makes enough sauce without being watery. Both of my children cleaned their plates and had seconds. My husband prefers to have some kind of meat for dinner, and even he said he could eat 10 plates of that. I will be making this again and again. Thank you for a healthy and satisfying recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States