Vegetable Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Loved it, substituted with canned tomatoes will repeat many times I expect :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Southall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
The recipe lacked flavor... I added more garam masala, cumin powder, ginger, and garlic. I also added puréed canned tomatoes after trying fresh tomatoes that were not quite ripe. It made a big and better difference with the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was a MAJOR hit at my house! I added just a bit of cumin and my own curry blend, but that was merely an adjustment " to taste". Your flavor profile and vegetable choices were spot on, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake George, New York, USA
Living In: Averill Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Great tasting and simple. I think of it as Indian Chili. My wife couldn't hate it more though. But she's not rating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I don't have a microwave so I boiled the veggies until the potatoes were cooked through, which worked well and saved time. I also used frozen peas instead of green beans and about half a can of diced tomatoes in place of fresh, but otherwise followed the recipe closely. I was making this for friends with a low spiciness threshold, so the seasonings were perfect. If I were making it again for myself or those with a higher spice tolerance, I would probably add cayenne or extra chilli powder for a bit more heat. Overall, very tasty as a side dish. I served it with saffron rice and chana masala for a filling vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was great! Even my meat eating husband liked it. I threw in kidney beans to give it something extra for him and we used sweet potatoes instead of white. I also increased the ginger just because I love that spice. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygrl4evr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! Very easy dish that tastes heavenly. I added about a cup of water to make it "saucier" and served over brown rice. I'll be making this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I used only half of the water and substituted the rest of the water with coconut milk. I also doubled the spices. This is one of our favorite dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Naderhoff-Croll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Beans are a nice addition and I prefer canned tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
4.5 stars. Very well spiced and lots of good veggies. I took to a school potluck with a side of couscous and it was very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States