Vegetable Lovers' Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I subbed water chestnuts for the bamboo shoots and added bean sprouts because I love them but made no other changes. It was a little bland as others mentioned so I added a splash of rice vinegar and this helped a lot. I think replacing a tablespoon of the veggie oil with sesame oil would bring this up another notch. It was good and we enjoyed it but I do think it needs more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by WISEREADER
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I liked this very much. I added some fresh grated ginger, a little shredded cabbage, and some white pepper. I substituted sesame oil for the vegetable oil. I also finely julienned the carrots instead of shredding them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I cut the recipe in half.....we'll, the rice and egg parts. I kept the vegetable ingredients the same. I actually used brown rice and cooked the rice in organic chicken broth. I used red bell pepper (we don't care for green). I highly suggest you try it this way, unless you like your fried rice rice-y. ;) NOTE: I always cook my eggs seperately from the fried rice ingredients only because I can't ever get mine not to turn out goopy. I just grease a small skillet with sesame oil and cook the eggs like I would a small omelette. After it cooks solid, I let it cool, then shred it. MUCH easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
it is really tasty but does not need 5 eggs... I just used 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecub

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this. We used brown rice instead of white and fava beans instead of bamboo shoots, since it's what we had from the garden. It's nice to know recipes that have common ingredients. I always have Tamari on hand and it did the trick here. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is a good "veggie fried rice". I added 1/4 t. curry powder and 1/4 t. red pepper flake, for a little kick. Also used low sodium soy sauce. If you really love chinese veggies, a quick substitute for green pepper (if you're not a fan) 1 15 oz. can chop suey vegetables well rinsed, bamboo shoots are already in the mix. ( I had left over shrimp and added it at the last minute..very tasty). This recipe is also great with pancit noodles if you're not a big rice lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katenc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Great! I used quinoa instead of rice and it was yummy with less carbs. I also used coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Very Bland missing something but it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HazelVallette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Carmel, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I made this and was thinking you know I have better stir fry recipes - by the end of my dinner, I realised I'd eaten enough for two and could have kept on eating. Its very yummy and goes without saying its superhealthy! I used organic brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
My Step-father who is so NOT a Veggie Lover, LOVED this. He had thirds, and ate leftovers. This is sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Reeve Cfmg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States