Vegetable Lasagna in Parmesan Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
If anyone can tell me what I did wrong, please do. I followed the directions and the ingredients except dried herbs for fresh; shredded Parm for grated; green pepper for red. The FLAVOR was very good. The TEXTURE was awful. I didn't get the point of making the Parm sauce when using two cups of ricotta and three cups shredded cheese. I'm wondering how this would work with more Parm sauce, which was tasty, and less other cheese. When I took the cover off (which the recipe doesn't tell you to use but which is assumed by later instructions to 'uncover'), the edges appeared to be bubbling in oil that I believe came from the cheddar in the shredded cheese. The bottom layer of noodles was not quite done. The texture, I think from the ricotta, was grainy. BTW, I measured out all of the ingredients before beginning the preparation, so I could focus on the recipe directions. From the time I started until I put the dish in the over was one hour and forty minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Very good! I made several changes that made it really delicious. For one, I added 8oz of baby bella mushrooms to the veggie mix, as well as some leftover spinach I chopped up. Note that you will need a pretty large skillet to cook all veggies in! I also added about 3/4 of a cup of prepared marinara sauce to the cheese mixture, which added a lot of flavor. I think the recipe requires more salt than called for, but maybe that's because I used different brands of cheese. I added a fair amount of S&P to both the veggies and the ricotta mixture before assembling. Finally, I sliced some fresh tomatoes and added those on top of the lasagna before the final sprinkling of cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I cheated and prepared this recipe using no-cook lasagna and frozen veggies. Still this tasted like something I had spent all day slaving over. This is a rich and creamy comfort food my family will have again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacymae
Home Town: Eastover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Otterbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Oh My God!!!! This was fantastic, and the great thing is, you can really put in whatever vegetables you like. I added spinach to it and it was sooooooo good. It didn't take that long to assemble wither, and you can put it together and cook it the next night. Highly recommend. The only thing is next time, I would double the ingredients for the sauce, becuase I really had to scrape the pan to have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This is such a great alternative to potatoes, and really turns an ordinary dinner into something special.....Everyone loves it, and there is rarely any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I miss read the directions and put the basil in the cream sauce also... it turned out6 pretty good anyway. I also used different veggies b/c I used what I had fresh... (zucchini, squash, corn, carrots, and mushrooms) the flavor wasn't quite what i was lookin for. I didn't have fresh basil, so i added a tbsp. of dry and it was definatly a basil lasagne. Next time i'll try differnt flavor (maybe a balsamic vin.), or stick with the fresh. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Excellent! I double the sauce (and this works with skim milk if that's a concern) and add a bunch of extra veggies (julienne carrots, squash, & zucchini with a box of frozen chopped spinach).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Okay, I didn't make the whole dish, I just made the sauce to use in another recipe - it was NOT GOOD!! It was very bland and had an unappetizing jelled consistency after baking. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Very tasty, but a little bit bland. Our version turned out more like a primavera pasta than a lasagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Wonderful.........i added mushrooms, spnach and zucchini. Would cut down on the red pepper (was a bit spicy) Keeper for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States