Vegetable Filo Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Overall I thought this was a really good recipe. I used red and yellow peppers, onions, broccoli, zucchini and squash. The only suggestion I would make would be to add an extra sheet of phyllo dough to the top once you have folded all the sides up. Other than that, the recipe was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was alright... not my favorite. I would reccomend making changes and if you have never worked with phyllo dough, you may want to try this more than once. I think it is a good concept but the flavor just wasn't there for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was very good and had much better flavor than I expected it to have. I used a little more cheese than called for and mixed feta with muenster since I didn't have enough feta, and that had a more mild flavor which I liked. I used broccoli, zucchini, onions, carrots and sweet potato and 1 leek, which I did not steam with the rest of the veggies (just added to the mixture before baking). I marinated the veggies and spices for about an hour in a balsamic vinaigrette and then added the cheese and egg mixture before putting it all together. I think this could possibly use more cheese / egg mixture, but the low amount kept the dish lighter and healthier. Overall this was very good and a great way to get in lots of veggies in one meal! I gave it four stars because I found the recipe to be somewhat vague. Thanks to all the other reviewers for their suggestions / modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made this in a hurry and totally forgot the dill and egg (the dill would have made it great), but it was very tasty and filling. I made home-made tzatziki sauce to go with it - perfect compliment for this very light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Wonderful way to use the left over veges (I used my left overs grilled veges from night before and added quite a bit of extras as well. It is important to use the thawed dough. Depending on the taste buds, you could also spice it up a wee bit and maybe add various left over cheese as well. One way to to clean the fridge of left overs from the summer BBQs. Great vege dish. I will be using this frequently thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Used leftover turkey and frozen peas and carrots to equal 5 cups. Substituted parmesan cheese for feta. Delicious, more healthful alternative to turkey pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was very tasty. I omitted the feta and replaced it with cheddar. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
The idea is good but the pie needs a lot more to make it great. It needs almost double the amount of vegetables, and more cheese/egg mixture to hold it all together. The flavours were nice but did not bind well. I used broccoli, red peppers, sweet potatoes, carrots, and green beans. I sauted half an onion and a few cloves of garlic and added that to the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Made this the other night with sweet potatoes, orange bell peppers, mushrooms, zucchini and onion. It was good! I lightly steamed the veggies but withheld the onion. Next time I will withhold the mushrooms from steaming, too. They were a little chewy in the finished product. I added fresh dill and it said "to taste" and I didn't add enough. I don't see the point of adding the one egg. I am thinking this recipe will be delicious with fresh tarragon instead of dill! Overall, I enjoyed this recipe and I can see how I can accommodate it to whatever my taste buds need. Thanks for helping me use up my Filo dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine McAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was good but unremarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States