Vegetable Filo Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
WoW... This dish was delicious. I marinated the vegetables for about 30min in sweet onion vinaigrette, and I think this is what made it so mouth watering. I will definitely make this again, and suggest it to all. I also used fresh dill, which added extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustin Grof
Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Yummy! I used zucchini, yellow squash, onions, and mushrooms, which blended really well with the cheese. Makes a great sack lunch item too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Be sure to thaw the filo before preparing the vegetables. I use almost twice as many veggies- spinach, zuchhini, brocoli, peppers, onion, leeks etc to make it more filling. Be sure to add spices you like- I use about 3 times as much dill and add basil and onion powder. Since I use more veggies I make more egg/cheese mixture. My husband also loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
The idea is good but the pie needs a lot more to make it great. It needs almost double the amount of vegetables, and more cheese/egg mixture to hold it all together. The flavours were nice but did not bind well. I used broccoli, red peppers, sweet potatoes, carrots, and green beans. I sauted half an onion and a few cloves of garlic and added that to the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I made lots of modifications because I used what I had on hand. (1) For the 5 cups of veggies I used an 8oz bag of spinach roughly chopped, 6 md. Cremini mushrooms chopped, 1/3 onion finely chopped (omitted powder), and 1/2 cup cooked brown lentils. (2) Used 1 Tbsp fresh oregano instead of dill. (3) I fried the onion and mushrooms, then added the spinach and covered until it wilted. I drained and squeezed the veggie mixture. (4) I used way more phyllo sheets than asked for, and created lots of layers with olive oil between every two sheets. Loved it!! Great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARHYSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I used broccoli, sweet potato, onion, green beans, zucchini, & red pepper; lightly steamed them, then marinated them in a vinaigrette dressing to add flavor. Added garlic powder & the onion powder to the egg mixture, and made everything else as written. Wonderful way to help me use up phyllo dough; very nice and I would make it again! Thank you, Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Overall I thought this was a really good recipe. I used red and yellow peppers, onions, broccoli, zucchini and squash. The only suggestion I would make would be to add an extra sheet of phyllo dough to the top once you have folded all the sides up. Other than that, the recipe was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This was very, very tasty- even for our 3 year old. I also have made it with cooked chicken breast. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
My family really enjoyed this recipe - and I forgot the dill weed! I will try again, seems you could make it a different recipe each time with different veggies. Oh, I also put many more veggies in and doubled the egg/feta mixture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by R5ocky
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I was looking for a way to use some leftover Phyllo dough and found this yummy recipe! It was a great hit with my kids! It looked really yummy and smelled so good too! I used zucchini, celery, carrots, broccoli, onion and tomato... I used lots of veggies so doubled the egg mixture and I also added some chicken, ricotta cheese, parmesan cheese and mozzarella (instead of the feta because I didn't have any) in the mixture. I took it out of the oven with 10 minutes left and topped it with parmesan and more mozzarella cheese and chopped tomatoes! Then put it back in for the last 10 minutes to melt, brown and get toasty good. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States