Vegetable Filo Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was alright... not my favorite. I would reccomend making changes and if you have never worked with phyllo dough, you may want to try this more than once. I think it is a good concept but the flavor just wasn't there for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was very good and had much better flavor than I expected it to have. I used a little more cheese than called for and mixed feta with muenster since I didn't have enough feta, and that had a more mild flavor which I liked. I used broccoli, zucchini, onions, carrots and sweet potato and 1 leek, which I did not steam with the rest of the veggies (just added to the mixture before baking). I marinated the veggies and spices for about an hour in a balsamic vinaigrette and then added the cheese and egg mixture before putting it all together. I think this could possibly use more cheese / egg mixture, but the low amount kept the dish lighter and healthier. Overall this was very good and a great way to get in lots of veggies in one meal! I gave it four stars because I found the recipe to be somewhat vague. Thanks to all the other reviewers for their suggestions / modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made this in a hurry and totally forgot the dill and egg (the dill would have made it great), but it was very tasty and filling. I made home-made tzatziki sauce to go with it - perfect compliment for this very light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Wonderful way to use the left over veges (I used my left overs grilled veges from night before and added quite a bit of extras as well. It is important to use the thawed dough. Depending on the taste buds, you could also spice it up a wee bit and maybe add various left over cheese as well. One way to to clean the fridge of left overs from the summer BBQs. Great vege dish. I will be using this frequently thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Used leftover turkey and frozen peas and carrots to equal 5 cups. Substituted parmesan cheese for feta. Delicious, more healthful alternative to turkey pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was very tasty. I omitted the feta and replaced it with cheddar. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
The idea is good but the pie needs a lot more to make it great. It needs almost double the amount of vegetables, and more cheese/egg mixture to hold it all together. The flavours were nice but did not bind well. I used broccoli, red peppers, sweet potatoes, carrots, and green beans. I sauted half an onion and a few cloves of garlic and added that to the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Made this the other night with sweet potatoes, orange bell peppers, mushrooms, zucchini and onion. It was good! I lightly steamed the veggies but withheld the onion. Next time I will withhold the mushrooms from steaming, too. They were a little chewy in the finished product. I added fresh dill and it said "to taste" and I didn't add enough. I don't see the point of adding the one egg. I am thinking this recipe will be delicious with fresh tarragon instead of dill! Overall, I enjoyed this recipe and I can see how I can accommodate it to whatever my taste buds need. Thanks for helping me use up my Filo dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xtinemac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was good but unremarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This has potential. I made it as directed (with 1 tsp of salt and pepper) and I thought it was a little dry and slightly bland after baking. I tasted the veggie mixture before baking and thought it was wonderful. I might add another egg white or something to add some moisture. Or maybe I'll cover it during baking to keep in some of the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States