Vegetable Feta Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lisa24
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Made this rice dish to accompany the Indian Style Sheekh Kabob. Nice touch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
this was yummy, you can't go wrong with feta, but I think next time i'll use half the onions, or maybe green onions.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I give this 5 stars *with* the following changes. Changes to ingedients: Use about 1/4 C red onion. Add a couple cloves of garlic. Add some red/yellow/organge bell pepper (maybe 1/2 of one). Consider increasing the feta to 6 oz (also, I used plain feta and added maybe 1/2 tsp of Italian seasoning and that worked well). Consider adding a little fresh cilantro (1 - 2 T chopped) and a couple of squirts of lemon juice. Do not use any vinegar. Changes to the procedure: Saute the red onion, celery, pepper, and garlic in olive oil before putting into the large mixing bowl. You can add the lemon juice (if you decide to use it) to the mixing bowl. Add the cilantro (if you use it) to the rice when it's almost done. After the five minutes of sitting in the bowl under hot rice, just toss and serve (skip the olive oil and vinegar). Made this way, it's delicious! And if you feel it still needs a little something, try adding a little soy sauce (try it first on a small amount).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
We loved it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cln714
Home Town: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
A pleasant twist on rice & veggie dishes. I used sweet onion and also sauteed the onion and celery. Makes a good base recipe that you can tweak with other vegetables and herbs. Other reviews gave me ideas for next time; this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I didn't have onion or celery, so I used onion powder and threw in cherry tomatoes instead. I also threw in some spinach with the rice while it cooked, so there'd be some cooked spinach at the end. Definitely add salt at the end. This makes a lot, so I only did 2/3 the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Great idea if you want to try something new with rice. I always end up tweaking recipes. Here's what I did: Cooked the rice in chicken broth with a little butter and minced onion. Then afterward I added a bunch of oregano, some garlic powder, salt and pepper and a little bit of Tomato, Basil and Garlic Mrs. Dash. I didn't use celery and cooked my onion first and it was really good. I also had some leftover pork roast that I decided to throw in at the last minute and it actually worked really well our main dish. The cucumber and feta reminded me of greek salad, so next time I think I'll try adding tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Excellent!! Cooked rice in chicken broth. I used lemon juice instead of vinegar as others have suggested. Only addition was minced fresh parsley and lemon basil. Will make this often. So fresh and light!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was very good! It did need a few changes though. As per other reviewers I added half the onion called for. Instead of vinegar, I used fresh squeezed lemon juice and added fresh, chopped cilantro, minced garlic and basil to taste. Between the warmth of the rice, the tang of the feta, the crunch of the vegetables and the fresh herbs and lemon..there was a party going on in my mouth! Thank you Danielle for a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Loved it, of course with the addition of salt and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetable and Feta Latkes

What’s the key to crispy latkes? Watch this video and find out.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States