Vegetable Feta Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Great change for a side dish. The cucumbers were interesting but delicious. I will prepare this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDILASSITER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I sauteed the onions and celery in butter, but not for too long. I still wanted the vegetables to have a little crunch. Otherwise very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Everyone in my family loved this. I hate celery so i added some chopped green capsicum and that tasted really nice. If you are using as a side dish for a family of four a would recommend only using one cup of rice. This is definity a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I did not care for this at all. I ended up throwing the whole thing away. I definitely would not recommend this, BUT if you are thinking about trying it, I would offer these tips: sautee the onions and celery and make sure you don't cook the rice too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLIVIAC15163

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hugheston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I addapted this recpipe by leaving out the cucumbers and switching the feta for mexican cheese with a similar crumbly texture. Still yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Loved this! I sauteed the onion and celery and used only 1/2c of onion. I used garlic/herb feta. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Efland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Made as directed and was very heavy on the onion. I would either half the red onion content or substitute for green onions that have a bit more mild flavor. Substituting balsamic viniger for the red wine would also be interesting, though the glaze is good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
OK -- a little too sharp for my taste. Definitely saute the onions (I only did for a little bit, so still tasted raw).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Really good! I added some rosemary and thyme into the water while cooking the rice. I didnt have any cucumber OR celery, so I used chopped sugar snap peas instead. Along with the red onion and feta it was yummy! I also used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine to give it a more Greek flavor. All in all I was happy with the results. When I have the proper ingredients I will be sure to retry and follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
We really really enjoyed this. The heat from the rice brings out the flavours of the feta(I used garlic-herb flavoured feta) very nicely and the crunch from the veggies is a nice surprise. I diced my veggies fairly small, and I only used half an onion. I agree that a whole cup would have been too overpowering. This was great cold the next day for lunch with some cold leftover chicken chopped into it. It's always great when you try something and it turns out to be better than you were expecting! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetable and Feta Latkes

What’s the key to crispy latkes? Watch this video and find out.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States