Vegetable Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2000
This is a really great recipe that will have your kids begging you for vegetables. Because we are now following a low fat diet I substitute fat free mayonnaise and fat free sour cream. It didn't hurt the flavor or consistancy one bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
For this easy dip, it was not bad. It was not something my kids would eat though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This is super easy to make and delicous. My kids love to dip everything in Ranch dressing, but now they dip everything in this dip. Although it is great with veggies it's also super as a dip for fries. I've also put it on hamburgers. I do thhough subsitute real parsley in instead of the dry b/c it makes it more fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I just made this dip today and it turned out so good I wanted to share the recipe, but see that it's already on here! The proportions in my recipe are a little different: 1 cup mayo, 1 cup sour cream, 3 TBSP each of Beau Monde, parsley & dried minced onion & 3 tsp dill weed. I could not find Beau Monde at my local grocier, so I looked on line and found the ingredients for it: 1 tablespoon ground cloves 1 1/4 teaspoons ground cinnamon 1 tablespoon salt 1 tablespoon ground bay leaf 1 tablespoon ground allspice 2 tablespoons ground pepper 1 tablespoon ground white pepper 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg 1 teaspoon ground mace 1 teaspoon celery seed In a small mixing bowl, mix together all ingredients. Pour into a tightly closed jar and store in a cool, dry place. Yields approximately 9 tablespoons. I had everything except the ground mace and white pepper, put it all together and the dip came out great! I have to admit that I didn't use a full 3 TBSP as I was afraid it would be overpowering. I served this dip with Lays potato chips, but tried it with multi-grain tortilla chips and really like it with those! I know it's a long review, but I hope you find it helpful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This is the best vegetable dip I have ever had. A friend got this off the website and used it at a New Year's Eve party two years ago and I have been making it ever since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I liked this. I only gave it 4 stars because I think it would have been better using fresh herbs. I didn't like the consistency of all the dried stuff. I've never heard of beau monde seasoning, and it isn't sold at my grocery store, so I added the seasonings to taste provided by a previous reviewer. I think I will keep this recipe, because it was a nice twist on your regular veggie dip. But next time I will use fresh herbs. This went especially well with the black and green olives and dill pickles on the veggie tray I brought to Thanksgiving tonight. I, like another reviewer, am trying to watch calories and used fat free sour cream and light mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
My husband loved this dip, and it is really quick and easy to make, anytime of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I'm sorry but I didn't find this to be anything special, and I followed the recipe as written. It just didn't have a significant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Excellent - I served this as a snack for our preschool class - all the toddlers loved it! I did omit the onions for them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~chele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I think AR ate my review. So I'll try again. This is a pretty good dip. Tastes like some store bought dips and is good to jazz up veggies. Bf took it to a get together and they ate with chips. They liked it--ate about half of it, and we ate the rest with veggies. This is the exact same recipe as the Beau Monde dip on this site, though, so I'm a bit confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States