Vegetable Cutlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
These are "okay" as written. They are a five star recipe when you dip them in an egg and milk bath and then roll them in cracker crumbs before frying. The bread crumbs just didn't taste quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Delicious! I made these for a party and everyone loved them. I served them with Major Gray chutney on the side. Contrary to the first review, I didn't find these time consuming at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
These were easy, and I really liked the idea in general. However, the recipe definitely lacked some oomph. Next time, I would definitely double the garam masala, because I couldn't really taste the spices at all (I did go easy on the cayenne though, because I don't care for hot spiciness). Thanks for a good idea. I might try this again but use different vegetables and experiment with the spicing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This was easy to make and it tasted good. I did not have that spice so I addded cumin and some cayenne and that seemed to work. It was added some variety to my normally boring vegetarian cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made these veggie burgers for the first time tonight and they were great!! I used two potatoes and two cups of frozen veg (sweetcorn, carrot, grean beans and peas) and I doubled the spices and I got four big burgers out of the mixture. My husband suggested using some HP brown sauce next time so I might try that. Thanks very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
As written these are bland, but with my modifications they tasted great. I followed the recipe, but I didn't add the green beans until the final 3 minutes of cooking. I didn't want mushy vegetables. I hand mashed them and left some of the potatoes chunky. For seasoning I added 1 tablespoon (yes one tablespoon) of garam masala. I'm used to spicy food and this was still mild flavour with a kick. I also grated one medium onion and two garlic cloves. The first time I made this I used only seasoned bread crumbs. They turned out great, but this time I made them with 3/4 a cup of seasoned bread crumbs added to the potato mixture, and I dipped them in egg and about 3/4 cup of panko. They turned out much crispier. The seasoned bread crumbs added to the flavour, but I will continue to use panko as the breading. I top these with mango chutney. Everybody who has had them says they're great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Recipe Group selection of 2/26/11. I grew up eating leftovers this way but without the spice. I cooked extra mashed potatoes last night and had some odds and ends of vegetables that I was saving for soup so my veggies were peas, carrots and corn about 1/2 cup of each. I used homemade breadcrumbs which were a combination of whole wheat and rye in the patties and panko for the coating. They were not bad. The spices perked up an otherwise rather bland mix. It is a good use of leftovers, but I can't imagine myself making these oherwise. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Made these for Recipe Group. I have never used garam masala before and was intrigued to try the spices. The patties kept falling apart after cooking and hubby thought them bland and said they needed something. I did not care for the strong clove taste from the garam masala. I did use panko bread crumbs and added a little corn to them. I just didn't care for them. Thanks anyway Dhano923.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
These were ok! I did panko for the bread crumbs and frozen vegetables in place of the green beans and peas, and doubled the garam marsala. These just really didn't have much flavor. I spread some Thai chili garlic sauce over the top and that help but on their own they were just unimpressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Photo by PolkaDot
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These were great and got rave reviews from my BF! I added corn and doubled the garam masala as per other reviewers. I also didn't have any bread crumbs so I used crushed crackers, half saltine and half buttery rounds (Ritz). Will definitely make again, a great vegetarian side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegetable Pizza I

This tasty party pizza is like creamy veggie dip in pizza form!

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States