Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I can't imagine making this recipe exactly as outlined here. Not sure how the potatoes and cauliflower would simmer without the addition of at least two cups of water (or broth). With the liquid, however, it got nice and saucy. I also doubled the carrots and added garlic. Also, due to the low burning point of olive oil, it's a poor choice to use for frying. Olive oil also has a Mediterranean flavour that's not right for a curry dish, and it's expensive. Save your olive oil for a nice dressing and use regular vegetable oil and butter for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
My husband loved this. I cooked the potatoes and cauliflower first though. Also added 1/2 c. frozen peas at his request. Great flavor, smells wonderful. Spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This was a great recipe that even my curry-wary husband loved. I made a few changes though. 1. Cut out the butter - indulgent and not needed. A touch of oil did the job. 2. I accidentally read the recipe backwards and doubled the tumeric and halved the curry. It was a wise mistake! It came out so yummy this way. We ate it in fresh whole wheat pita bread and loved it! It's also great as a cold snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was okay. I added a little extra curry powder and turmeric. I found it was a little dry so during cooking, added some water. (I would have used chick.broth but I didn't have any on hand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Very tasty, but i made changes as per some other reviews. I added enough water and vegetable stock for the vegetables to cook without pre-cooking, and added peas (good tip). I also upped the curry powder and turmeric, and added 3 large spoonfuls of creme fraiche 10 minutes before serving to make a creamy sauce. Served with pilau rice, poppodums and naan, this was a lovely alterntaive to a meat curry, and very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Agree this is a great starter recipe with so many possible variations. Some type of liquid is definitely needed in order to simmer the vegetables. Liked the suggestions of tomato paste and creme fraiche. I substituted thick chunks of yellow squash for the potatoes but may use potatoes another time. Didn't realize I had no turmeric on hand until I had the preparation well underway. I omitted the salt(because I used chicken broth)and pepper(reviewer's tip)and even with these omissions we thought it was very good. Since I didn't use potatoes I didn't see the need to pre-cook the vegetables so my cooking time was still only about 20-25 minutes. Glad I saw this recipe and thanks for the previous reviews - will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Excellent! I made this for dinner last night and it was great, had it for lunch today and it's even better! I subbed sweet potatoes for white, doubled the curry and turmeric and added 1 cup chicken bouillon for moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Masonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Delicious! I followed the others suggestions to use chicken broth and/or water while simmering the potatoes and cauliflower. I used 1 cup broth and 1 cup water. Next time I will use 1/2 cup more of each, I would have liked just a bit more sauce. I also added a few other things for a bit more spice and flavor; 1/2 tsp. curry paste, 1/2 tsp. chili powder, 1 tsp. garlic, 1 tsp. fresh grated ginger and I did use additional curry and turmeric. Thanks very much for the recipe and the added suggestions to make the exact curry dish I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
this is a very good starter recipe! It easily accepts substitution of whatever vegetables you happen to have on hand. I used fresh instead of frozen. I added nutritional yeast for a thickening (didn't have tomato paste on hand) and red pepper flakes to spice it up. I agree with the many before me, if you like a lot of "kick" add more curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Like another member suggested, I cooked the veggies first, until they had about five minutes left to go. Then I added them to the skillet and also added about 1/2 cup of water to evenly coat the veggies. Served over rice, I couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States