Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I had to add water for the cooking process, but this is absolutely the recipe I've been trying to get from my Indian co-workers who come to work with delicious smelling dishes daily. Now my curry can stand up to theirs at the Dept. pot-luck. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calumet, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Delicious! I followed the others suggestions to use chicken broth and/or water while simmering the potatoes and cauliflower. I used 1 cup broth and 1 cup water. Next time I will use 1/2 cup more of each, I would have liked just a bit more sauce. I also added a few other things for a bit more spice and flavor; 1/2 tsp. curry paste, 1/2 tsp. chili powder, 1 tsp. garlic, 1 tsp. fresh grated ginger and I did use additional curry and turmeric. Thanks very much for the recipe and the added suggestions to make the exact curry dish I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Yep, you definitely need to keep an eye on this while it's cooking, and add liquid when it gets dries out (I used chicken broth). I cut back on the pepper flakes since I was making it to go with the already-spicy Yogurt-Marinated Salmon Fillets (Dahi Machhali Masaledar) from this site. I also omitted the tumeric as mine has been in the cupboard too long and has got kinda sour. Next time I'll use peas insetad of carrots (we didnt really care for the taste). Not bad though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe was very tastey, but definitely did require some extra cooking and moisture for the carrots and potatoes. I also added garbanzo beans and garlic, and everybody, myself, my 2 year old, and my husband, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
very tasty, but yes, water is needed pour a little at a time, as it will cook into the veggies quickly served over quinoa, which is a little healthier recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Even when I took others' advice and added two cups of water and peas and yogurt this still ended up as a fairly bland curry. Perhaps that's because of a lack of decent curry powder but even so, not the greatest curry recipe. My search continues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Yum. I did boil the cauliflower and potatoes while I sauteed the onion and carrot. I also added frozen peas as suggested. I enjoyed this dish more the second day after the flavors had time to sit over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Couillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is a pretty good quick curry recipe. It's definitely a lighter version than with the coconut milk. I did add about 2 cups of veggie broth and some arrowroot powder (about 1.5 tsp) to thicken the sauce up a bit. Very yummy and not much left for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Agree this is a great starter recipe with so many possible variations. Some type of liquid is definitely needed in order to simmer the vegetables. Liked the suggestions of tomato paste and creme fraiche. I substituted thick chunks of yellow squash for the potatoes but may use potatoes another time. Didn't realize I had no turmeric on hand until I had the preparation well underway. I omitted the salt(because I used chicken broth)and pepper(reviewer's tip)and even with these omissions we thought it was very good. Since I didn't use potatoes I didn't see the need to pre-cook the vegetables so my cooking time was still only about 20-25 minutes. Glad I saw this recipe and thanks for the previous reviews - will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I added pumpkin to this, it was so delicious and really easy to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States