Vegetable Cornish Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My family really enjoyed these, wonderful flavor. I didn't have yeast extract spread, and I thought it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Super tasty! I didn't have very many mushrooms on hand, so I didn't use as many as called for and it would have been nice to have more. These would be made delicious with a good gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Thank you so much for this recipe! I totally cheated on the pastry, but the filling was gorgeous. I actually used flaky croissant pastry from the biscuit section which took a lot of the prep time out, and was delicious-although not totally authentic, I think it made my very American husband like it more than if I had used the traditional pastry. These freeze great- I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I didn't have the mushrooms or yeast spread, so I just omitted them. These are a great base, but next time I think I'll add some garlic or other spices. It's like a healthy Hot Pocket :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My wife made these from the recipe. Being English was a little nervous but should not have been. These were wonderful. For a twist replace the Worcester Sauce for a mix of Garam Masala and Currey Pwder dissolved in a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grays, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Moseley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Mmmm..... Sadly, my turnip had seen better days when I made this, so I left it out, and added a bit more carrot and potato. I think as long as you make the sauce, the filling is flexible. Um... yeah I also didn't actually make a pasty. I wasn't feeling all that motivated, so I made the filling and ate it with bread. But I am *certain* that it would only be better in pasty form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I used pastry for double-pie crust from this site. Left out mushrooms,turnip,cheese due to family preferences. Added some chopped zucchini.May consider peas next time Used a boullion cube in lieu of Marmite.Made 8 pastries-my picky eaters gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was very good -- much better than the simple ingredients might suggest. It is a very hearty vegetarian meal -- my husband was convinced there was meat in them until I told him otherwise. I omitted the yeast extract spread (didn't have any) and forgot the egg wash at the end. I think this recipe would be pretty forgiving in terms of root veggie substitutions -- I didn't measure or count, just scooped a good handful of carrots, turnips, and potatoes. I think the filling would also be excellent done in a bread crust like a calzone. Thanks! Great recipe to use up all the root veggies I got from my CSA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esprasad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Too Good! I have had pasties at the famous upper peninsula in Michigan. These were delicious. I used 'mushroon turnovers' recipe from the site for the crust. Extraordinary really. Oh, I did add some smoked chile tomato sauce in the veges instead of yeast extract and a wee bit of oregano. This tasted very good. The crust is out of the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Very good recipe. My mother uses an old recipe from England for the pastry. It's called "ruff/rough puff." I used that because I prefer it to standard pie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States