Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Great recipe. To lower the calorie count I used a vegetable spray to saute instead of butter, used half of the cheese and blended 1/3 of the soup in my blender rather than thickening with the flour and milk. Still tastes great and is healthier as I try to drop post holiday pounds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
My family and I really liked this chowder~! I did follow the suggestions and used a cup more water than called for, and it was still thick, but good. I used all 3 cups cheese because we absolutely love cheese. However, it did make it a little more like a dip and less like a soup, so I will only use 2 cups next time as other reviewers suggested. What I LOVE about this recipe is you can literally use whatever veggies and whatever cheese your family likes most. You can't mess it up! I used frozen and fresh veggies, but I think next time I will add more. I will also not simmer for 20 minutes, but only about 10 minutes until crisp tender, as the veggies get even softer when the chowder has to boil again. I look forward to experimenting with this recipe in the future as this will be a regular for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
I recommend this recipe highly. I followed other recommendations to go light on the cheese and had to add the rest of the cheese later. I'm learning to take suggestions through the context of the reviewers own personal preference. If you like thick soup, as I do--by all means leave the cheese in. In my opinion, it's not overwhelming and tastes great. The soup tastes delicious without cheese too, so let common sense lead you to what tastes best to YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Really wonderful! I wondered how it could be so good, so decided to try it. I added a whole red pepper, and a whole chopped onion and a 1/2 head of chopped cabbage because I had it on hand. My secret ingedient in all soups is using a cup of juice rendered from caramelizing 10 sliced onions in the crockpot with one cube of butter for about 18 hours. I strain, and pkg the onions and the juice each in 1 cup baggies, and freeze. The onions go on meat, and the juice into soups. With this addition this chowder should go to a 10 star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
In my opinion I destroyed this recipe the first time I made it by mixing the cheese into the soup. At most, I suggest serving the soup with cheese sprinkled on top - I also enjoy it with no cheese at all - but there is no need to enrich the soup further by mixing in the cheese, ESPECIALLY in the quantity suggested. I love this recipe. It is easy and flexible. Don't be afraid of it if you don't think you like cauliflower, which acts to make it "potato soup-like". Do what others suggest with chicken broth. Do not overly chop up the brocoli and cauliflower. One can vary the recipe and use up vegetables one has on hand. The next day it thickens, and my mom thins it with more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
What a great simple nutrient dense soup! I didn't have/don't like all of the ingredients, so I just used the veggies I had on hand (2 red bell peppers, 1 orange bell pepper, 4-5 carrots-some chopped/some shaved, 1/2 a red onion, 2 broccoli crowns, about 1/2 bag of frozen white shoepeg corn, and 1 box of frozen peas) and didn't measure anything. I sauteed the onion and peppers in a dash of EVOO and 2 healthy spoons of minced garlic, then added a carton of chicken broth and the remaining veggies and simmered for about 10 minutes. I added a can of skim evaporated milk w/a dash of flour mixed in. Then, I lightly blended some of the soup w/my immersion blender and added about 2/3 a 2 cup bag of 2% shredded cheddar. Good stuff! Even Mr. LTH said "Tell them Mr. "L""T""H" like this"....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Mmmm-Mmmm good! I made it as written except I used half the amount of cheese called for.I used a can of evaporated milk for the milk part. Makes a delicious, creamy pot of soup. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Good chowder. I didn't use any peppers because I didn't have any; also substituted soy milk instead of real milk, and reduced flour to 1/4 cup. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Increased the broth, decreased the cheese, and added chopped ham. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This is SOOOO good!! I didn't use all the veggies that the recipe called for. I just used whatever I had on hand. I also omitted the chicken bouillon, the recipe doesn't need it anyway. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States