Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I just served this to a crowd the other night, and what a huge hit it was! There were several requests for the recipe. It was super easy, and I only made a couple of small changes--used cream instead of milk (although it was so rich, I probably could have stuck with milk)and reduced the cheese to two cups (it was still incredibly cheesy). Oh, yes, and I also added mushrooms. I know I'll use this recipe many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I loved this recipe! So does my husband. I didn't change anything, and thought it came out perfect. I will for sure be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Fantastic recipe! I used only a small pat of butter and a little olive oil to saute the onions/peppers, added mushrooms and corn, and reduced the cheese to about 1/2 cup sharp cheddar, with a little sprinkled on top of each bowl. I also blended the soup just a little bit with my handheld mixer to give it a smoother consistency (but still let some veggie chunks remain). I thought the recipe was absolutely delicious. I am definitely adding it to my meal rotation. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Delicious! I followed the recipe pretty closely. But I used a yellow bell pepper instead of red, and since I didn't have any celery, I just added extra broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots to compensate. I actually used a pre-packaged bag of broccoli & cauliflower florets from Trader Joe's, so it was really easy. Based on other reviews, I didn't even chop them smaller and they cooked down great (I did poke them a bit with a spoon towards the end to "help" them integrate more with the soup). I forgot to add parsley, and I just eyeballed the cheese (shredded a big pile of it and threw it in at the end). It tasted pretty good without the cheese too, so I like that flexibility of the recipe. My husband and I both loved it. The kids (they are 4 1/2 and 2) only ate a few bites, so that's why I only gave it 4 stars and not 5. My son actually said he liked it, so there's still hope (maybe he just wasn't very hungry tonight!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Great soup! I cut the broccoli and cauliflower fairly coarse because I like chunky soup, and they still cooked down to almost nothing... next time I will chop even coarser. Soup tasted great and was the right consistency without using a blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is my all-time favourite vegetable soup -- I usually don't change a thing, except once in a while I throw in some potatoes and I usually add a bit of roasted red pepper seasoning -- yummy! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Great base for a creamy soup. I used onions, garlic, carrots, celery and broccoli. Left out the cheese entirely. Turned out delicious and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was great! I'll add less flour though, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
...I started out making House Fried Rice and discovered I was out of rice!? (heat must be getting to me)..so..with my veggies semi-stir fried I decided to make soup. Threw my veggies (onion, broc, carrots and celery) in a stock pot added some frozen corn and roasted red pepper and garlic and proceeded with this recipe. I didn't have to boil the veggies just brought the chicken broth to a simmer, added the milk and flour..stirred..added the parsley, lots of ground black pepper and sharp cheddar. Good soup! Served with Tomato Bruschetta. Thanks R.A...you saved the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This was a nice, simple chowder. Not bursting with flavor, but a quick meal when you want to make something quick and healthy. I did take the suggestion of others and add corn. I can't imagine the soup without it! I also used less broth and milk than required to make the soup thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States