Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Great soup! I cut the broccoli and cauliflower fairly coarse because I like chunky soup, and they still cooked down to almost nothing... next time I will chop even coarser. Soup tasted great and was the right consistency without using a blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is my all-time favourite vegetable soup -- I usually don't change a thing, except once in a while I throw in some potatoes and I usually add a bit of roasted red pepper seasoning -- yummy! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Great base for a creamy soup. I used onions, garlic, carrots, celery and broccoli. Left out the cheese entirely. Turned out delicious and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was great! I'll add less flour though, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
...I started out making House Fried Rice and discovered I was out of rice!? (heat must be getting to me)..so..with my veggies semi-stir fried I decided to make soup. Threw my veggies (onion, broc, carrots and celery) in a stock pot added some frozen corn and roasted red pepper and garlic and proceeded with this recipe. I didn't have to boil the veggies just brought the chicken broth to a simmer, added the milk and flour..stirred..added the parsley, lots of ground black pepper and sharp cheddar. Good soup! Served with Tomato Bruschetta. Thanks R.A...you saved the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This was a nice, simple chowder. Not bursting with flavor, but a quick meal when you want to make something quick and healthy. I did take the suggestion of others and add corn. I can't imagine the soup without it! I also used less broth and milk than required to make the soup thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I omitted the broccoli, and I think it was a big mistake. The soup was okay, but it was definitely missing something. I won't forget the broccoli next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
The kids loved this! My kids will never knowingly tough a bell pepper or onion, but ate all of this. I found this recipe when looking for something to use up a drawer full of veggies in the refrigerator; it was perfect! I didn't have any cauliflower, but lots of broccoli so I doubled it. Tossed in a clove of pressed garlic. And we only had to cook for 15 minutes (I suspect since the veggies were a week old in the fridge), but it turned out great! The only thing I might change if I make again is to add a little more spice- maybe some chili powder or an herb blend. It's a good thing it turned out well... the recipe only used up about half of the veggies, so I might make again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Salvinian
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Fantastic recipe! I followed the standard recipe and added two jalapeno peppers and a bunch of green onions and simmered only for 15 minutes so that the vegetables wouldn't get too soft and man, oh, man it's GOOOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salvinian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Fantastic recipe... my children loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States