Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I have to say that this was a great change of pace from my normal bean soups. Loved the richness but even though I cut down the cheese to two cups (and I LOVE cheese), I still thought it was a little too cheesy and will use less next time. Just used the veggies I had on hand, bell pepper, onion, zucchini, summer squash and asparagus and added some dried thyme. Garnished with a sprinkle of cheese and the aspragus heads. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe! I love hot, tasty dishes that also give you a heaping helping of vegetables. This dish tasted great and the chowder had an excellent consistency. For my three cups of cheese I used a cup of regular cheddar and two cups of extra sharp cheddar. Note that the quality of the cheese that you use will have a big effect on the taste of the finished product. I use a decent quality Cabot sharp cheddar and the results are fantastic. My prep time was substantially more than the 15 minutes estimated by the recipe, but the results were so good that this recipe will definitely be repeated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Didn't have any celery on hand so left that out, and didn't have any fresh parsley so just used dried. Other than that followed exactly. Turned out delicious and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was so good! Very rich. I used homemade vegetable broth instead of the bouillon cubes, and I also substituted corn (frozen) and zucchini for the celery and cauliflower, as I just didn't have those on hand. Great cold weather meal! Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was really good but my family felt that it needed more spices. Nice texture, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
A great baseline soup for anything you might have on hand! I used potatoes, frozen vegetables, and leftover beef kielbasa. A little less cheese, but then used some to top with. AND instead of water and bouillon, I used equivalent broth. My personal touch? A little celery seed sprinkled into the simmering broth. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I used the frozen mirepoix mix for the chopped parts and the frozen vegetable mix (italian) for the veggies. I also substituted soy mix for milk and chicken broth (3 c) for the bouillon, added seasoned salt and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Delicious! It's a great way to empty your refrigerator of leftover bits and pieces of veggies. I prepared it right up to the time you're to add milk and cheese and froze it, adding them when I was ready to serve it. I used homemade chicken broth rather than boullion cubes, to cut down on sodium. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
4.5 stars. It'd be 5 stars with additional spices. I'm sure I'll make this again, and I'll try adding garlic and thyme, and add jalapenos to my vegetable list. I used evaporated milk for 1 cup of the milk because it needed to be used up; I think it helped make the soup thick & rich. I pureed my vegetables after the 20 minute boil (husband has texture issues). I didn't measure my vegetables at all, because I'm a rebel like that, and I overdid it on the carrots, which made it too sweet. 2 carrots was 1 too many for us. Thanks for the recipe, I'll definitely make this one again, as it's so easy to modify with what you have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Wow, I can't believe how well this turned out considering I didn't have a lot of the ingredients on hand. I wanted to use up a lot of veggies before they went bad, and this is an incredibly versatile recipe. I used onion, garlic, carrots, celery, & broccoli, with a box of chicken broth (4 cups), then evaporated milk, a little flour, 2c cheese, some cilantro & green onions at the end. My husband and I had thirds, my 6-yr old had seconds, and my picky 3-yr old ate some of it. This will definitely be a stand-by recipe for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOPEYDUCK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States