Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This soup was great. I didn't measure my vegetables, but I roughly doubled everything but the milk/flour mixture and the cheese. Fantastic flavor! Thanks for sharing this recipe, TALL MOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
5 stars with a few changes - I added another cup water and bullion; 1 cup heavy cream instead of milk, omitted the cauliflower and celery, added 1 can green beans, and various leftover meats (half a meatloaf, half lb sausage, 6 slices bacon). Turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Very good hearty soup! Doubled veggies and added about 1 1/2 c. more water. I also halved the margarine and did 2 c. cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very yummy! A big hit with the kids. I added potatoes which helped thicken the soup so the flour wasn't necessary. We have a gluten sensitivity in the family and potatoes are an easy way to make a soup gluten free. Thanks for the recipe it's become a staple for us during the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
this was too thick and cheesy for me, even with using only 2 cups of cheese and an extra cup of water. next time i will use 1 cup cheese and still add even another cup of water. but it is a good base recipe -- using whatever veggies i had (red peppers, onions, broccoli, cauliflower and carrots), plus some minced garlic. i might add a can of corn and can of black beans or even some rice next time and make it super hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
So yummy! I'm not one to LOVE veggies, but this soup is so delicious. I want to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crockett, Texas, USA
Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
a delicious chowder! made as directed but with only 2 cups/a bag of shredded mixed cheeses and it was plenty. is a great soup as is or to add or mix favorite items. perfect thickness and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This recipe is such a wonderful recipe. I made it last night for our dinner together with “Crayfish and Prawn Salad with Butterbeans” and “Bass escalope with pine nuts and black olives” that I discovered at and , the recipes in the site was really amazing take a glance at those site for more exciting and nutritious recipes. Have fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Loved, loved, loved this chowder. Using others suggestion, I increased the water another cup and cut back on the cheese. I also added a can of corn which added some sweetness. Excellent and as stated by others I'm sure most any veggie would work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This soup was so good! I feel like celery does not add much, and I would have had too much left over if I'd bought the bunches my store had, so instead I just put in 2 red peppers. Confession: I definitely used WAY more than 1 C of each vegetable, I wanted a big pot of soup. I have this problem with buying vegetables in equal quantities and then realizing at home that they are like 3x what the recipe calls for. I used 3 of what my store labeled 'broccoli crowns' and only 1 cauliflower head which was kind of smallish, could've added two IMO. A medium/large onion, 2 cans of corn because I LOVE corn in soup, and 3 or 4 carrots. My fiancee requested THICK soup so I added a little more flour/milk on top of the around-3x ingredients I used and it thickened amazingly, especially the next day. HOWEVER: I did not add ANY cheese to this. I see no point. The red peppers, butter, and onions you cook at first gives this incredible, sweet aftertaste that would be totally lost with cheese IMHO. I did not triple the bouillon though and I used dried parsley instead of fresh. Never would've put broccoli and cauliflower in chowder otherwise. Thanks very much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States