Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I love this recipe as does my family. I made it tonight and tripled it to give some away to a sick friend. You can adjust the vegetables to your family's tastes but do not omit the red bell pepper as it really makes the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tory

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I've made this about 8 times now, and it couldn't be easier. Great for throwing in any veggies that are wasting away in the refrigerator. Celery root and parsnips are a favorite of ours, along with quite a bit of cauliflower. This soup always turns out great. We think it would be good with cubed ham, but haven't tried it. A healthy, hearty meal in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Wonderful chowder! I used butter to saute the pepper and onions; about 4 cups of homemade chicken broth instead of the bouillon/water. Took the advise of some of the reviewers to use half of the suggested amount of cheese. This turned out to be a great meal served with some fresh French Bread. Thank you for sharing, TALL MOM. This is a keeper and will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This turned out fantastic! I questioned some of the ingredients, but the flavors really come together. I used a whole onion, half of the suggested amount of cheese, and subbed potato flakes for the flower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
omitted the cheese as it was creamy enough without the cheese. Used double the carrots and broccoli as I didn't have celery or cauliflower on hand. added a little bit of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was a very quick simple soup to make for a busy night. I didn't have cauliflower, so added in a whole bell pepper and onion. I used my own chicken broth instead of water and bouillon cubes. We don't ever have margarine, so I used butter. I did add in some minced garlic along with the other vegetables. You may want to add in some more spices, it is a bit on the bland side, but that is just us, we like flavoring from herbs. This is a pretty flexible recipe to use what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Great weeknight supper! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and halved the cheese; it worked great, but you should only add it a handful at a time, stir until it melts, and add another handful,... I sauteed the celery with the onion/pepper mixture since I don't like crunchy celery in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very good, just the taste I was looking for. Used homemade chicken stock, non fat milk, 2 tbls. butter. Did not have red pepper and husband doesn't like cook carrots so doubled the brocolli and cauliflower. Had to add a bit more milk as it was too thick. Used 1 1/2 c. sharp cheddar. Before adding cheese I used my submersible hand blended and blened it about half way. Wow, it is excellent. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I thought this was just alright. I ended up having to add italian spices and pasta to give it something. Also, despite making a double recipe and adding pasta, it only fed 4 ppl as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Very creamy and tasty; simple, too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States