Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Very good recipe. You can practically use any veggies you have on hand. I found the chowder too thick and will cut down flour to 1/4 cup next time. Used a can of fat-free evaporated milk. Served with cheese sprinkled on top. Delish - this is going into my six-week meal plan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This recipe ROCKS! I doubled the liquids and used a load of fresh veggies, whatever I had on hand. I eliminated the margarine (unnecessary calories) and just sauteed the onion in a generous dollop of olive oil. I also added a few cans of corn and diced potatoes to bulk it out--wonderful! I used evaporated milk and cut the amount of cheese by a third; otherwise it is just too rich. For a more full-bodied soup, try using vegetable broth or stock instead of bouillon and water. White pepper also worked nicely in this. I made a huge double batch and brought it in to work and they were licking the bowls and clamoring for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
In a word... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Really wonderful! I wondered how it could be so good, so decided to try it. I added a whole red pepper, and a whole chopped onion and a 1/2 head of chopped cabbage because I had it on hand. My secret ingedient in all soups is using a cup of juice rendered from caramelizing 10 sliced onions in the crockpot with one cube of butter for about 18 hours. I strain, and pkg the onions and the juice each in 1 cup baggies, and freeze. The onions go on meat, and the juice into soups. With this addition this chowder should go to a 10 star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Absolutely great! This turned out perfect! I used chicken stock, rather than water and then added one boullion cube. I also did not use as much cheese. I used my dad's technique of shaking the flower and milk in a small closed tupperware container, before adding it to the soup. I added a clove of garlic to the veggies while they were simmering (then removed it before adding the flower/milk) to add a little more flavor. My husband doesn't like strong onion/garlic flavors, so this is one way I sneak in a bit of garlic. This recipe made it into my recipe binder, so 5 stars for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This is absolutely fantastic. Chopping the vegetables is time consuming, but it is well worth the effort. Everyone in the house loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Great recipe - easy, fast and nutritous! I double the recipe to have leftovers. Here's what I changed: I pureed a 15 oz. can of cannellini beans instead of using the milk/flour combo to thicken the soup (use any light colored beans - pinto, garbanzo) and also took a few ladles full of soup and pureed that. Added a bit of half & half for the creamy look/taste (maybe added 6-8 oz). You also really don't need all that much cheese - I used 2C the first time I made it and only 1C the second time (even though I doubled everything else). IT WAS AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
WOW!So delicious!The whole family loved it!Only downfall was that now i'm being bullied into making it again and again! Hats off to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
very satisfying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This soup is delicious. Once you get past cutting up the vegetables, it is quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States