Vegetable Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
It is pretty good. I put in fresh vegetables of mushroom, french beans, califlower and carrots and cut the garam masala to a teaspoon. Water was also cut to 2/14 cups and I put all in the rice cooker for the 2nd step...fuss-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
One of the better veg. biryanis I have made. I never soak basmati as I find it makes it too mushy. I also added a cinnamon stick after the onions caramelized. I used fresh brocolli, carrots, portabella mushrooms and water chestnuts instead of frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This is a fabulous recipe and I highly recommend it!! I follow the Weight Watchers program and it comes to just 4.5 pts per serving if you use a reduced-fat margerine instead of butter. The recipe is good even without the butter at all, too! I recommend using 2 c. of fresh veggies instead of just 1. I used chopped fresh broccoli, mushrooms, and shredded carrots. Cauliflower and peas would also be very tasty in this! Be careful with the cloves... I do not recommend using the entire 1/2 tsp. They are very strong and you also might not want to bite into them! Also - the recipe does not specify whether the 1 c. rice should be 1 c. cooked or not cooked... I used 1 c. uncooked and it yielded about 2-3 c. cooked. This was a perfect amount so I think that's what the recipe-poster meant. Also, I made mine in the microwave rather than the soaking and mine turned out excellent. For an extra 2 pts, vanilla or mango yogurt is an excellent, complimentary side-dish to this spicy dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was a great recipe. Very easy to cook and a great compliment to the spicy foods associated with Indian cooking. I served it with Spicy Chicken Curry, Naan, Cilantro Chutney, and Spicy Indian Dahl. It made a great meal for guests who enjoy Indian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eayers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Similar to popular rice salad served at Wild Oats. I, too, added fresh broccoli and beans. Used coconut, raisins, cashews and cilantro as garnish. The sweet is nice with the spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Very good stuff.But The prep time doesnt reflect that the rice has to soak for a half an hour. Plus do not use brown basmati rice, which was all I found. It will double the cook time. Still fantastic, makes the house smell lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Reeve Cfmg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Way too spicy for me, but my husband loved it. I didn't put any chili powder and increased the vegetables to 1 1/2 cups. Also, I'm sure it will taste better with fresh vegetables. Overall, it was very good and smelled delicious while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This was my first attempt at making an Indian dish. I agree that the smells were wonderful! I followed the recipe all the way the end. I tasted it after the 20-25 minutes and it was hot/spicy but was missing something. I added about 2-3 Tablespoons of honey to balance the other flavors. It was great! Will try with fresh veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Added some golden raisins, toasted pine nuts, and topped with non-flavored yoghurt. A great meal and the plain yoghurt was a perfect compliment. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Svensson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I was so disappointed! I followed reviewers advice and only soaked rice for 10 mins... the end result was rice that didn't taste done. Also, as far as taste, I omitted the cloves. There wasn't an overwhelming cloves taste when I made it. In the end it wasn't as spicy as I'd like it, but it wasn't bad. I will probably try to make this one more time with a few more adjustments (leaving the rice to soak longer) because I really want this to turn out good!! It's so few calories, and has all the ingredients and tastes I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States