Vegetable Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I don't deserve to rate this, since I barely followed it at all, but there is a reason a soaking period is there. I'm STILL waiting for the rice not to be crunchy . . . Though granted, I am using a different type of rice. All the same, WAY longer than 20 minutes is all I'm saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary-celeste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Good, but next time I will use ground cloves, since the whole ones were terrible if you bit into them. Also I would use chicken stock since it was a little flavorless to me, but I added a lot of extra vegetables. I skipped the step of soaking the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
a bit mushy but a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
this was pretty good, especially after it had set for a couple of hours. didn't soak the rice and it was bordering on mushy, so i wouldn't. i thought the flavour very mild (having reduced the cloves) but nicely fragrant. i recommend using crunchier or textured veggies. overall pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I was so disappointed! I followed reviewers advice and only soaked rice for 10 mins... the end result was rice that didn't taste done. Also, as far as taste, I omitted the cloves. There wasn't an overwhelming cloves taste when I made it. In the end it wasn't as spicy as I'd like it, but it wasn't bad. I will probably try to make this one more time with a few more adjustments (leaving the rice to soak longer) because I really want this to turn out good!! It's so few calories, and has all the ingredients and tastes I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
i agree, this recipe had WAY too much clove in it. even still, it managed to be tasteless as another reviewer mentioned. there's not enough balance of flavors, but i'm not entirely sure what all is missing... shouldn't there be cardamom at least?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
The rice got really mushy, we didn't like that. I cut back to 1TBSP garam masala, like suggested. It was tastesless. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
had to make some adjustments: increased cumin seed to 1 tbsp, skipped cloves, and decreassed garam masala to 1 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soaad Ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Very good recipe. After reading reviews I made the following changes: did not soak rice did not add cloves because it was not in my spice drawer: did not add chili powder Used mixed frozen vegetables. served with sour cream and mango chutney which added a necessary spiciness that would probably have been there if I'd had chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tigressmama3
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This was a really good biryani but I would make two suggestions for making it better...1. Don't soak the rice for that long if at all or it will be on the mushy side. 2. Cut back on the clove, it had too much clove flavor as clove is in the garam masala...the clove was over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States