Vegetable Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was a pretty good recipe, first time I made veggie biryani that didn't come out all mushy! I used fresh veggies for the most part in this as I did not have frozen mixed vegetables. I used one small potato, 1/2 red pepper, 1/2 a zucchini, 1/2 jalapeño pepper, 1 1/2 handfuls of baby carrots (chopped). I used 1/2 a cup of frozen peas and a handful of frozen corn. After the onions cooked I added in the potatoes cooked them for a few mins, added in the carrots and jalapeno cooked that for a few mins, added in the rice cooked that. Then added in the water, rest of the veggies and the spices and about a tablespoon of raisins. It tasted very good when finished, I ate it with a baby spinach salad (that had red onions and grape tomatoes in it) that had the "creamy cucumber dressing" from this site. I usually like a yogurt/raita with my Indian rice dishes, the dressing did double duty in that respect. The meal was enjoyable and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
It is pretty good. I put in fresh vegetables of mushroom, french beans, califlower and carrots and cut the garam masala to a teaspoon. Water was also cut to 2/14 cups and I put all in the rice cooker for the 2nd step...fuss-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was a great recipe. Very easy to cook and a great compliment to the spicy foods associated with Indian cooking. I served it with Spicy Chicken Curry, Naan, Cilantro Chutney, and Spicy Indian Dahl. It made a great meal for guests who enjoy Indian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eayers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This turned out horribly. I followed the directions word for word. Here's my thoughts on where it went wrong: 1) Too much garam masala. This has to be some horrible mistype on amount. 2 Tbsp is just entirely too much. 2) Soaking the rice for 30 minutes is too long. This causes the rice to be too brittle. It should be soaked for around 10 mins. 3) Simmering frozen vegetables for 20 minutes turns them into mush. 20 minutes would probably be fine for fresh. I'll shoot to find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Added some golden raisins, toasted pine nuts, and topped with non-flavored yoghurt. A great meal and the plain yoghurt was a perfect compliment. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Svensson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Similar to popular rice salad served at Wild Oats. I, too, added fresh broccoli and beans. Used coconut, raisins, cashews and cilantro as garnish. The sweet is nice with the spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This was my first attempt at making an Indian dish. I agree that the smells were wonderful! I followed the recipe all the way the end. I tasted it after the 20-25 minutes and it was hot/spicy but was missing something. I added about 2-3 Tablespoons of honey to balance the other flavors. It was great! Will try with fresh veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Way too spicy for me, but my husband loved it. I didn't put any chili powder and increased the vegetables to 1 1/2 cups. Also, I'm sure it will taste better with fresh vegetables. Overall, it was very good and smelled delicious while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This is a fabulous recipe and I highly recommend it!! I follow the Weight Watchers program and it comes to just 4.5 pts per serving if you use a reduced-fat margerine instead of butter. The recipe is good even without the butter at all, too! I recommend using 2 c. of fresh veggies instead of just 1. I used chopped fresh broccoli, mushrooms, and shredded carrots. Cauliflower and peas would also be very tasty in this! Be careful with the cloves... I do not recommend using the entire 1/2 tsp. They are very strong and you also might not want to bite into them! Also - the recipe does not specify whether the 1 c. rice should be 1 c. cooked or not cooked... I used 1 c. uncooked and it yielded about 2-3 c. cooked. This was a perfect amount so I think that's what the recipe-poster meant. Also, I made mine in the microwave rather than the soaking and mine turned out excellent. For an extra 2 pts, vanilla or mango yogurt is an excellent, complimentary side-dish to this spicy dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
One of the better veg. biryanis I have made. I never soak basmati as I find it makes it too mushy. I also added a cinnamon stick after the onions caramelized. I used fresh brocolli, carrots, portabella mushrooms and water chestnuts instead of frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States