Vegetable Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This recipe is a fairly simple but delicious and healthy one-dish complete meal. I've made biryani rice dishes before but never one with such rich, complex flavor and such a marvelous fragrance. After cooking, our home was filled with a subtle, exotic aroma that lingered for hours. NOTE: This and other biryani recipes are adaptable to simplifications and time savers, such as using thawed/steamed frozen peas;1/8 teasp crushed red pepper instead of seven whole peppercorns; crystallized ginger and dried garlic; and pre-diced onions, carrots, and potatoes. Of course, the dish is best and most authentic with the freshest ingredients -- but better a "quick" biryani, I think, than no biryani at all at the end of a long day! Depending on your preferences, you could eliminate some vegetables, but keep the onions, garlic, herbs & spices, broth, and rice. The turmeric imparts a lovely golden hue and sublime flavor. I've had great success adding mushrooms as well. I advise a great mango chutney as accompaniment, with yogurt or sour cream. It also keeps and reheats nicely for next-day dining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Flavorful! Nice healthy option. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
The best EVER! When it came time to add the rice and water I realized that I had used a pot that was too small. I halved the rice and water amount, and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Delicious! I had to use red curry paste since it was all I could find by me (and didn't have time to run to the Indian market). I left out the red pepper as a result since it was already in the paste. It came out incredible! Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Excellent recipe! I used powdered cinnamon as I didn't have any sticks. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe! I love it and make it often. has wonderful flavor and the aroma is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I made this for some friends, and not only did I love it, but my friends said they'd never had better in any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Vineland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I didnt add potatoes because I made toor dal to put over the rice...I only used half cinnamon and a little more garam masala...very flavorful...tastes almost identical to the rice my friend from India makes...thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
very flavorful . I did`t add vegetables to it(peas,carrot and potato), I used 2 sticks of cinnamon and I added a pinch of cardamom. very good as a side dish .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Wonderful! Very easy and very adaptable, using what you have on hand as needed for substitutes. I used fresh red chilies, dried ginger, and no added salt and it was just fabulous. As all the other posters have said, the aroma is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States