Vegetable Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Simple to make and a perfect side to any curry. If eaten as a main I would suggest some cashews and raisins and perhaps a few green cardamon pods toasted in the begginning. Good quality spices (not some old spice jar forgotten at the back of the cupboard) is key and makes the difference between a mildly spicey rice and a truely authentic dish. As one other reviewer said the recipe is best with fresh, good quality ingredients (except for the peas which are usually sweeter when bought frozen), there are many shortcuts you can take with the veg but there is no compromise with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I thought this was bland. The flavors were not nearly as strong as the biryani I've had in restaurants. Next time I will use ground spices and double or even triple the amount of each of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Yum, yum, yum. Looks a bit like your dogs breakfast but it tastes delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
i made this last nite, and i loved it, actually thought i wasn't crazy about east indian cuisine, obviously i hadn't tasted the good stuff!i also made the chicken jalfarezi, used the leftover pork loin i had made the other nite, it was also very good. i am impressed, and plan on trying a lot more of the recipes on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used frozen mixed veggies when pressed for time and always throw in some cashews at the end. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eayers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Deeeeliciuos! Easy to make and tastes great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SP
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I used red chili flakes (1/8 tsp) in place of bay leaves, substituted corn for carrots (didn't have any carrots), added an extra 1/4 tsp of garam masala for kick, an extra tsp of salt (it needs the extra salt!), and served with cucumber raita (Indian yogurt dish).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This is a delicious starter recipe - we modified and added spices/peppers to give it a kick. The recipe is very mild on spice as is. Tip - water took 10+ minutes to evaporate in step 1, and rice was done in 20 minutes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rima

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I didnt add potatoes because I made toor dal to put over the rice...I only used half cinnamon and a little more garam masala...very flavorful...tastes almost identical to the rice my friend from India makes...thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Wonderful! Very easy and very adaptable, using what you have on hand as needed for substitutes. I used fresh red chilies, dried ginger, and no added salt and it was just fabulous. As all the other posters have said, the aroma is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States