Vegetable Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
simple and tasty and the spices make the kitchen smell soooo good. The only thing I changed is that I cooked the potatoes a bit longer (added them with the tomatoes) and sauteed bell peppers with the frozen peas and added them at the end, after the rice has simmered, so that they keep their color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katya Y
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Very good recipe, but bland. I doubled all the spice amounts, tripled the salt, and mixed in some cooked ground beef. Next time, im going to add more peas, carrots, and potatoes then the written amount. Thank you for the recipe Asmaa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
For my taste, it could have used some more spice. It was good, but I will add a little more chile pepper next time. It was definitely a good start though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was a disappointing recipe. Perhaps in step 2 the instructions should not say to simmer until the water evaporates. The biryani ended up fairly dry. Also, even though the biryani had multiple spices, the spices were so subtle and blended together, leaving the dish bland. I gave this recipe two stars rather than one because it was easy to make and did not taste awful. The dish was edible just not enjoyable. I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe. Did follow up on another recommendation in the reviews and increased the amount of spices in the recipe. I basically doubled all the spices. The resulting biryani was wholesome and robust. Felt good to my Indian taste buds, yet did not overwhelm my non-Indian friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Dish was very flavorful and I would definitely recommend if you're a fan of Indian cuisine. I followed the recipe to the letter, but found that it takes 10 minutes for the water to boil off and rice was done after 20 minutes (similar to other reviewer). It called for a 1/4 teaspoon of red chili pepper and I ended up using red (cayenne) pepper, which made it a little too spicy for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
i always make chicken biryani and this was my first attempt with veggie-biryani. could've used a little more of the spices. otherwise, a perfect and super easy method to a delicious and yum-looking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I have made this dish several times and my family loves it. It's a great vegetarian dish with tons of flavor! I don't always have the whole spices called for but have substituted ground spices instead. Don't be timid with the spices! For variety I have tried adding almonds or cashews,raisins, or red lentils. Smells delicious, tastes wonderful, and is great for leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Simple to make and a perfect side to any curry. If eaten as a main I would suggest some cashews and raisins and perhaps a few green cardamon pods toasted in the begginning. Good quality spices (not some old spice jar forgotten at the back of the cupboard) is key and makes the difference between a mildly spicey rice and a truely authentic dish. As one other reviewer said the recipe is best with fresh, good quality ingredients (except for the peas which are usually sweeter when bought frozen), there are many shortcuts you can take with the veg but there is no compromise with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States