Vegetable Beef Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
This is a wonderful soup and we made it with leftover grilled steak. I used V-8 juice and fresh vegetables. One last substitution was thyme leaves instead of the oregano. The "teen" ate 2 huge bowls and finished off the leftovers, as a snack, the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
great on a cold day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
This was the easiest soup I've ever made!! I did substitute V8 juice and added one package Lipton Onion Soup mix. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This is the best vegetable-beef soup I have ever had. I live alone and made a big pot and froze what I didn't eat in individual servings. When I put it in the microwave, to defrost and heat, it was just as good as when I first made it. I substituted V-8 juice for the tomatoe juice and Thyme for the Basil. I also added a little crushed red pepper and some granulated Beef Bouillon to boost the flavor. This is a permanent recipe in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Warm, comforting old-fashioned vegie soup. I substituted 1 can crushed tomatoes for the tomato juice and also used some Bloody Mary juice I had. I also added 2 cans of beef broth for my hubby - he likes a lot broth in his soup. I used fresh carrots, celery and onion instead of the frozen and it was still done in about an hour. Loved using the fresh stew meat - will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe was great! I tried it with 1 jar of regular V8 and a jar of low-sodium V8 and a package of onion soup mix and had no need to add salt. Talk about an awsome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
My son and husband loved this recipe. I did change it a little by putting beef base in it. Next time when I make this recipe I believe I will use V8 juice instead. It did'nt have enough flavor in it for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
My husband ate 4 bowls at one sitting! He loved it. I am just learning to cook and this was so easy and almost fail proof. I added beef broth, stewed diced tomatoes and worschester sauce to add more flavor. Also added canned pinto beans and butter beans. Will defintely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
yummm this recipe was really good it tasted like my Grandmas soup(which is a great compliment!)i also added a lot more tomato sauce i added 4 quarts and 3lb of regular ground beef and it was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I loved the recipe but added a few ingredients to fit my family's tastes. I used spicy tomato juice, new potatoes, and black beans (rinsed). It was excellent. The longer it cooks the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States