Vegetable Beef Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
This is a wonderful soup and we made it with leftover grilled steak. I used V-8 juice and fresh vegetables. One last substitution was thyme leaves instead of the oregano. The "teen" ate 2 huge bowls and finished off the leftovers, as a snack, the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
great on a cold day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
This was the easiest soup I've ever made!! I did substitute V8 juice and added one package Lipton Onion Soup mix. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This is the best vegetable-beef soup I have ever had. I live alone and made a big pot and froze what I didn't eat in individual servings. When I put it in the microwave, to defrost and heat, it was just as good as when I first made it. I substituted V-8 juice for the tomatoe juice and Thyme for the Basil. I also added a little crushed red pepper and some granulated Beef Bouillon to boost the flavor. This is a permanent recipe in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Warm, comforting old-fashioned vegie soup. I substituted 1 can crushed tomatoes for the tomato juice and also used some Bloody Mary juice I had. I also added 2 cans of beef broth for my hubby - he likes a lot broth in his soup. I used fresh carrots, celery and onion instead of the frozen and it was still done in about an hour. Loved using the fresh stew meat - will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe was great! I tried it with 1 jar of regular V8 and a jar of low-sodium V8 and a package of onion soup mix and had no need to add salt. Talk about an awsome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This soup was really good. A comfort food for a cold day. I did make changes, however. I added 1/3 Tsp. sage, 1/3 Cup red wine, and 3 Tbsp. Worchestershire sauce. I used 1 quart tomato and 1 quart V-8 juice. Thanks for a great recipe, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This was really good and so easy. I cooked it in the crock pot all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
My son and husband loved this recipe. I did change it a little by putting beef base in it. Next time when I make this recipe I believe I will use V8 juice instead. It did'nt have enough flavor in it for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
My husband ate 4 bowls at one sitting! He loved it. I am just learning to cook and this was so easy and almost fail proof. I added beef broth, stewed diced tomatoes and worschester sauce to add more flavor. Also added canned pinto beans and butter beans. Will defintely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States