Vegetable Beef Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I just made this soup today and my family loved it! I've never made soup before but the recipe seemed so simple, I figured I couldn't mess it up...I just had to get over my fear that it would end up tasting like seasoned tomato juice with mushy vegetables (because of the 2-3 hour cook time)! I guess the key is the long, slow simmer of everything together because it definitely tasted like soup - amazing soup - and the vegetables were not mushy (once I got a low boil, I turned the heat down from "4" to "2" and kept it there until it was done; about 2 1/2 hours). I did as others suggested and used V-8 vegetable juice instead of straight tomato juice and added Lipton onion soup mix, 3 tbl. spoons of worchestershire sauce, 1 tbl. spoon of dried thyme, 4 cloves of minced garlic, 3 cans of beef broth, two extra potatoes to thicken (because of the added broth), an extra pound of beef stew meat and an extra bag of frozen mixed vegetables. I'm so elated that I made soup that I'll probably never buy canned soup again! This one is definitely a keeper (with the adjustments)! Also, I did have to add salt because I used low sodium broth and low sodium V-8, and I'm sure the frozen veggies added water and, therefore, contributed to the need for salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I thought this was a very good easy vegetable beef soup, some are so difficult to make, this was easy, I also made a few changes, cause I thought it was too acidy from the tomato juice, I added 16 oz of beef broth, and worchstire sauce, taking the idea from the suggestions, also garlic and 2 bags of veggies, it turned out delicious. oh yea and 2 tsps of sugar to cut the acid also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I have officially found my "keeper" of vegetable soup recipes. I did change it up a little bit, though. I used V8 juice, added a packet of onion soup mix, doubled the vegetables, added 6 cloves of garlic (of course!), and added a dash of worcestershire sauce, added a dash of hot sauce, and omitted the salt. MUCH better than the canned stuff. I will try making it in the crock pot to get the beef even more tender next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktchristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I made this recipe using pork b/c it's what I had. I used tomato-vegetable blend instead of just tomato juice. I added one can of stewed tomatoes cuttup and I cooked it in the slow cooker for 1 hour on high and then 4 hours on low. Next time I'll cook it for 6 hours total; the potatoes weren't quite cooked. Besides that problem this soup received a good grade from the family. I'll make it again next fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was EXCELLENT! Was exactly what I was looking for and was super easy. Will make over and over again. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This soup was awesome. I was looking for a good, 'regular' beef vegetable soup that used normal ingredients. This was exactly what I was looking for. The only changes I made were that I used a 46 oz. bottle of V8, 2 cans of beef broth, 2 16 oz. bags of frozen veggies, a package of onion soup mix and instead of the spices noted, I put a little oil in bottom of pot put the stew meat in the pot and sprinkled them with pot herb (a dried herb mixture found in spice stores and supermarkets made for soups and stews). When the meat browned, I added all of the other ingredients and some basil and black pepper and simmered for several hours. Served w/rye bread and butter for dipping. DELICIOUS! Will make again and again! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This turned out great. I made some changes-- i used rigatoni instead of potatoes, added some canned corn and chopped green peppers, and i also added a good bit of worstershire sauce. great recipe to start from-- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very easy, and very tasty. Followed the recipe exactly. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Excellent soup. The only change I made was to add water and a little beef base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I wanted an easy hearty vegetable beef soup that I could make a huge pot of to have leftovers for a few days. The seasonings gave it a strong flavor at first but it evened out and was hardly noticeable in the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States