Vegetable Beef Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
not what i thought it would be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Every time I make this recipe I have to give it 5 stars cause it is that good. I use fresh veggies instead of frozen and I use V8 juice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Loved this recipe. Great comfort food that's easy to make (except for browning the meat . . . I always make a mess!). My portions = 1 46oz V8 original, 1 46oz V8 Low Sodium, 2 16oz bags of frozen mixed veggies, 3lbs cubed chuck beef, 3 large potatoes, 1 packet Lipton Beefy Onion dry soup mix, 2tsp of salt, all the seasonings listed x 2 plus a tiny pinch of cayenne pepper. I went with these portions b/c I could only find the 46oz V8 bottles at my store so I improvised. I cooked for 3 hrs in stock pot on low. A great way to boost the beefiness is to do your browning in batches, and for best browning (vs boiling) you should always have room between the pieces when you put them in the hot oiled pan, don't turn until pan releases the meat (otherwise you rip the seared side off) then continue to brown, you should have a very browned pan so after you take the meat out between batches put a ladleful of the V8 mix into the pan and deglaze, then scrape the mixture into your stockpot w/ the browned meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TLW
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Good recipe. I found that I liked it better the second time I made it by adding a bay leaf, and using V-8 juice instead of plain tomaoto juice. It's a keeper, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made the soup exactly as called for. My son commented it needed a little more meat. Other than that comment, all enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amesco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is an awsome, simple soup recipe I have made over and over without changing a thing. My 2 year old loves it also. It has become a monthly winter meal in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is the best recipie I ever followed. So easy and tasty. I used 2 quarts of V8. 3 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
My family really enjoyed this soup. And with a family of 5, there were no leftovers! I used leftover meat and potatoes from a very large pot roast. It worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaosmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was my first time making vege soup. I was a bit worried that it wouldn't turn out like moms but this recipe is delicious!! The only change I made was to use 1Q of tomato juice and 1Q low sodium V8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is definitely one of my favorite soups! I chopped the beef into smaller cubes, and sauted it with onion and garlic. Instead of 2 bottles of V8, I used one with 2 cans of beef broth, 1 can of water and some onion soup mix. I followed the rest of the recipe except the addition of 1/4-1/2 tsp. of chili powder, a pinch of crushed red pepper and added orzo 10 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States