Vegetable Beef Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This soup was awesome. I was looking for a good, 'regular' beef vegetable soup that used normal ingredients. This was exactly what I was looking for. The only changes I made were that I used a 46 oz. bottle of V8, 2 cans of beef broth, 2 16 oz. bags of frozen veggies, a package of onion soup mix and instead of the spices noted, I put a little oil in bottom of pot put the stew meat in the pot and sprinkled them with pot herb (a dried herb mixture found in spice stores and supermarkets made for soups and stews). When the meat browned, I added all of the other ingredients and some basil and black pepper and simmered for several hours. Served w/rye bread and butter for dipping. DELICIOUS! Will make again and again! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
This was the easiest soup I've ever made!! I did substitute V8 juice and added one package Lipton Onion Soup mix. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This is the best vegetable-beef soup I have ever had. I live alone and made a big pot and froze what I didn't eat in individual servings. When I put it in the microwave, to defrost and heat, it was just as good as when I first made it. I substituted V-8 juice for the tomatoe juice and Thyme for the Basil. I also added a little crushed red pepper and some granulated Beef Bouillon to boost the flavor. This is a permanent recipe in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe was great! I tried it with 1 jar of regular V8 and a jar of low-sodium V8 and a package of onion soup mix and had no need to add salt. Talk about an awsome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
This is a wonderful soup and we made it with leftover grilled steak. I used V-8 juice and fresh vegetables. One last substitution was thyme leaves instead of the oregano. The "teen" ate 2 huge bowls and finished off the leftovers, as a snack, the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This soup was really good. A comfort food for a cold day. I did make changes, however. I added 1/3 Tsp. sage, 1/3 Cup red wine, and 3 Tbsp. Worchestershire sauce. I used 1 quart tomato and 1 quart V-8 juice. Thanks for a great recipe, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
My husband ate 4 bowls at one sitting! He loved it. I am just learning to cook and this was so easy and almost fail proof. I added beef broth, stewed diced tomatoes and worschester sauce to add more flavor. Also added canned pinto beans and butter beans. Will defintely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This is a fabulous soup! I made it today and it turned out great. I did add some extra tomato juice & vegetables, but everything else I did exactly as the recipe said. Delicious! I will definitely make this one again (and again....and again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I wanted an easy hearty vegetable beef soup that I could make a huge pot of to have leftovers for a few days. The seasonings gave it a strong flavor at first but it evened out and was hardly noticeable in the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This is an easy recipe that tastes awesome and even pleases my husband who dislikes most vegetables. I usually add extra seasonings and sometimes I add extra meat. I can heartily recommend this recipe. I have made it multiple times and each time it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States